1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cube DD

Discussion in 'General Video Gaming Chat' started by hornydragon, May 4, 2002.

  1. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    While browsing I came across this does any one know exacxtly what it means?:confused::confused::confused:
    There’s a 16-bit audio processor located inside the ‘Flipper’ chip, and it’s fully independant. It can easily handle 64 channels of 3D sound - X-box’s 128 channels isn’t 3D - only when Bill’s crew of cronies reduce that number do they get 3D sound. Ha! The chip also incorporates MUSYX - a system that allows musicians to directly transfer their creations into a game, without any hassle. :confused: The end result of this is beatiful sound - and although the cube itself doesn’t support Dolby-D, many games have the option in their own sounds menu (e.g. Wave Race).:confused: :eek:


    Is it just Journo Bable:confused:
    Found it at http://www.gamecubeuk.ip3.com/gamecube/page2.html

    If this is true how the hell do you get it out the CUBE? Not seen a Digital Audio connection anyware.
    Oh yeah whats with the Digital video out, can you run both outputs simultaneously? Or is it Digital Video Digital Audio, Analogue Audio Analogue Video only?
    I thought the cube was supposed to be simple!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:mad:
     
  2. groundy

    groundy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,553
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    Ratings:
    +1
    The MUSYX development system allows developers to incorperate Dolby Pro Logic II in to their games, apparently at the flick of a switch. While DPL II is very good, it is not Dolby Digital. Games do not support Dolby Digital, but Rogue Leader does support Pro Logic II and future releases will too. Pro Logic II actually works very well in a gaming environment as there is no compression to deal with and effects can be generated in real-time.

    On Jap/US Gamecubes, the Digital Video port is used for outputting Progressive Scan via Component Video or the Japanese D-Terminal standard. The component cable can modified to output RGBs into Scart (I make these) which is great because the import Cubes do not output RGB via the AV-Out. Sound is not transmitted via the DV-Out but it does work in conjunction with the Analogue AV-Out for this purpose.

    The Cube hardware does support S/PDIF audio but it can only be made to output it via Optical Toslink with extensive modification or conversion board. It will still only output 2 channel stereo though. There is a guy over at the Atari Labs forum that has made a solution for this. Check it out at:

    http://www.geocities.co.jp/Technopolis-Mars/9984/PROTO1.jpg

    I think it's safe to say I won't be building one of those in a hurry.

    :)
     
  3. fuzzybee

    fuzzybee
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    1,477
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Chesterfield town of the crooked (Spire)
    Ratings:
    +72
    At last someone who actually knows what they are talking about and what is this DD option in waverace ?(There is not one)

    Groundy
    Can you clear something up for me please mate
    I have a pal GC but have ordered a Component video cable from lik-sang.(My toshiba tv has the inputs on the back
    I know I will not get a prog Scan picture but what picture will I get.
    I read many forums and some of the comments people give are ridiculous.
    Also which is best RGB scart or S-video.

    Cheere mate
     
  4. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    If you can get me a schematic I can knock one of those up in a week or two. There are advantages to being an Electronic Systems Microcomputing Student.:p :p :p :p :p :p
     
  5. Kevin Harris

    Kevin Harris
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2001
    Messages:
    122
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +0
    Fuzzybee

    You will get a 15hz RGB signal so it will work on your TV if it has Component connections.

    I have a PAL GC and have hooked it up to my projector and I get the option in most games to switch to 60Hz which is an added bonus.

    Cheers

    Kev.
     
  6. fuzzybee

    fuzzybee
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    1,477
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Chesterfield town of the crooked (Spire)
    Ratings:
    +72
    Cheers mate thanks for letting me know.
    I hope the bloody cable arives soon I am using composite scart and it is not very good

    Happy Gaming.;)
     
  7. Kevin Harris

    Kevin Harris
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2001
    Messages:
    122
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +0
    Took 2 weeks to the day to get my component cable from www.LikSang.com but was worth the wait.

    I have just tried an s-video cable and I do not get a picture.

    I have done some digging and it looks like to get RGB Nintendo disabled s-video, ahh well cant win em all I will need to l be taking this madkatz s-video cable back to HMV tomorrow.

    Kev.
     
  8. fuzzybee

    fuzzybee
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    1,477
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Chesterfield town of the crooked (Spire)
    Ratings:
    +72
    I also found this as I use a spook s-video cable for my USA GC which works fine but will not give me a picture on my pal GC.
    Good news about playing import games on the GC so I will now be selling my Usa GC.
    Also just to let people know my USA joypads also work fine on pal GC.

    Happy Gaming;)
     
  9. Kevin Harris

    Kevin Harris
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2001
    Messages:
    122
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +0
    Where did you here the good news.

    I wonder if it is the same problem with s-video as with RGB, nintendo might have just changed the specs for the PAL GC and a mod'd s-video cable will come out.

    Cheers

    Kev.
     
  10. fuzzybee

    fuzzybee
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    1,477
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Chesterfield town of the crooked (Spire)
    Ratings:
    +72
    Take a look on here mate it is not a link I do not know how to do it just type this in on your search engine.
    www.codejunkies.com/gamecube.asp

    Bloody fantastic news
     
  11. fuzzybee

    fuzzybee
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    1,477
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Chesterfield town of the crooked (Spire)
    Ratings:
    +72
    Sorry it is a link it does it automatically DOH:confused:
     
  12. Kevin Harris

    Kevin Harris
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2001
    Messages:
    122
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cant wait to here that it works.

    Nintendo luv to keep us Brits waiting months after the JAP/USA releases so this will sure help to plug the gap.

    Thanks for the heads up

    Kev
     
  13. groundy

    groundy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,553
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    Ratings:
    +1
    Fuzzybee:

    To answer your question, the Pal Gamecube does support Component Video out via the DV port so you will get a Component Video picture if used with your Toshiba. This is comparable with RGB and most people consider it to be slightly superior. Component and RGB are both vastly superior to S-Video so use them where possible. You are correct in thinking you will not get Progressive Scan because the Toshiba does not support it. Only Projectors, Plasmas and Loewe TV's with the VGA board can accept a progressive input signal. The Loewe TV accepts this via a VGA connection which is not Component, but RGB HV.

    On another note, I wouldn't go selling your US Gamecube just yet. There will most likely be a mod to allow you to play PAL games on it if that's what you're interested in. Indeed, there's no reason to assume the Datel AR won't be able to do this. Keeping your US machine is the only way to guarantee 100% that you can play all your games in 60Hz.


    Kevin:

    Don't you mean you are getting Component via your projector? RGB cannot be sent down the Gamecube Component Cable without modification to the DAC chip. Also RGB cannot be accepted via Component connections on the Toshiba. Only Component Y PrPb can. You're correct in saying the PAL Gamecube cannot output S-Video (as of yet).

    Hornydragon:

    Schematic is here:

    http://www.geocities.co.jp/Technopolis-Mars/9984/ngcspdif.gif

    You might have a little trouble locating some of those IC's.

    :)
     
  14. fuzzybee

    fuzzybee
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    1,477
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Chesterfield town of the crooked (Spire)
    Ratings:
    +72
    Groundy

    Cheers mate thanks for that good point on my US GC.
    I have my pal Xbox currently connected via component at the moment straight into my tv.
    So I will have to connect my Xbox and GC to my amp then my amp to my tv.
    I will need a component cable about 4 meters long can you recommend one or where I might get one.
    Sorry about all the questions

    Cheers mate
    Happy Gaming;)
     
  15. Kevin Harris

    Kevin Harris
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2001
    Messages:
    122
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Groundy,

    Did not explain myself too well.

    I am as you say in your message using the component cable from the Digital AV out on the PAL GC to connect to my projector.

    I am hoping that the Action Replay will allow any USA 480P enabled games work on the PAL GC so I can get the best posible picture.

    Fingers crossed.


    Cheers

    Kev
     
  16. Kevin Harris

    Kevin Harris
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2001
    Messages:
    122
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +0
    fuzzybee,

    Go to any electrical supplier and get 75ohm rated cable and 6 good phono connectors and make your own cables.

    Real easy and very cheap.

    Maplins or RS will have all you need.

    Cheers

    Kev
     
  17. groundy

    groundy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,553
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    Ratings:
    +1
  18. fuzzybee

    fuzzybee
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    1,477
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Chesterfield town of the crooked (Spire)
    Ratings:
    +72
    Thanks for both replies guys but I would prefer to buy a ready made cable besides most of my cables are made by IXOS so one more wont hurt.
    Thanks for the advice and links

    Happy Gaming:D
     

Share This Page

Loading...