1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Crystalio is coming

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by cj, Apr 16, 2004.

  1. cj

    cj
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    1,457
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +74
    Well I've taken the plunge and ordered a Crystalio - should be here early next week. I'll keep you posted on how I get on.
     
  2. cybersoga

    cybersoga
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,628
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +25
    How much did it cost and is it a (final) production model?
     
  3. Alex Simon

    Alex Simon
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi there
    Glad you are excited about your purchase CJ :)

    Hi Cybersoga
    Crystalio SRP is around £2399. We're hoping to come in below that. CJ is being supplied a demo model until we swap it for the new cased version when it arrives in a couple of weeks.
    He just couldn't wait!

    We're looking forward to his thoughts - we've been running it into our Barco crt and Yamaha dlp projectors using SDI for a couple of weeks now and we're very impressed.

    Cheers
    Alex
     
  4. cj

    cj
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    1,457
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +74
    Thanks Alex - you beat me to it :) The MKI case is nice, but the MKII case looks fantastic. I've waited ages for a scaler and just couldn't hang on any longer.
     
  5. Alex Simon

    Alex Simon
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi CJ
    The mk1 case actually looks and feels much better in the flesh than we expected. I'ts very solid and quite compact.
    But, yes we expect the mk2 case to look even better still. The larger screen should help too although once set up, it's not really used.
    What's the system it's going into?
     
  6. cj

    cj
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    1,457
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +74
    I'll be trying it with a Tag DVD32 via its progressive (PSM192) and interlaced ouputs. Will also be interesting to see any differences using both the DVI and analogue outputs of the DVD32. The DVI output isn't all digital in the DVD32, but will be interesting to see if it makes a difference with the Crystalio doing the A->D, or the Tag.

    It will be connected to a Runco CL-710 DLP via both DVI and RGB. Other sources I have to try are Sky+ via SDI, and a HiDef XBox. I also have a HTPC with a Radeon 9800 Pro + Sweetspot + DScaler + SDI capture card to compare. When I get time I can also give it a run into a Toshiba Pw16 plasma, and feed it with a cheaper DVD player (Kiss DP 508).
     
  7. Alex Simon

    Alex Simon
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Excellent stuff - it sounds like you're going to have fun.
    We've had fun trying the SDI modded dvd player through SDI and Component. As well as all 3 consoles, 2 other DVD players, SKY and a few other bits and peices. The SDI colours were particularly impressive!
     
  8. cj

    cj
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    1,457
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +74
    Arrived safe and sound on Friday, but I've only just got back from a stag weekend. I did manage to get it out of the box and power it up - the interface is a breeze. Had Sky+ outputting at 1080i without even reading the manual - then I had to come to work :( Will hopefully get some more time with it tonight when the kids have gone to bed :)
     
  9. Jackass

    Jackass
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    3,097
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +612
    Look forward to your findings, CJ.

    Steve.
     
  10. mutley

    mutley
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    445
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Portugal
    Ratings:
    +2
    How about a review CJ?
     
  11. cj

    cj
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    1,457
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +74
    I'll do my best to do one this week - been a busy weekend :) I will tell you that I've had it on a "10 day money back" trial, but it's definitely staying :thumbsup:
     
  12. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    how is it coming along? It is freakishly quiet in here at the moment!

    ad
     
  13. Jackass

    Jackass
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    3,097
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +612
    Yeah,

    Whats going on?

    Never mind the rest of your life :D

    Give us a detailed report, NOW. :)

    Steve
     
  14. mutley

    mutley
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    445
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Portugal
    Ratings:
    +2
    Heard on AVSforum that Crystalio is does NOT support HDCP
    :lease: :lease: :lease: :suicide: :suicide: :thumbsdow :thumbsdow
     
  15. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    I knew there was discussion about this because I talked asked Nelson about it..... I thought they were going to put it in to be honest. I suspect for someone spending this amount of money that it really isnt going to be too big a deal..... dvi dvd players currently arent a match for sdi ones and at the moment there really arent many dvi machines of any other variety. In any case, im sure if it turned out to be an issue, support could be added

    ad
     
  16. cj

    cj
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    1,457
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +74
    Sorry guys - 2 stag weekends in 2 weeks. Will try and give you my review later this week.
     
  17. zapata

    zapata
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Messages:
    616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Camberley
    Ratings:
    +17
    @buns can you expand on HDCP and what it means in relation to the subject of scalers. I too am looking to buy one and at these prices I don't want to make a mistake. Also are you limited to which type of DVD player can be modded for SDI and can this be applied to any other AV equipment !
     
  18. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    HDCP is an encryption system that can be implemented with both dvi and hdmi. What it does is it stops a display showing an hdcp signal unless the display too is hdcp compatible. So if you have a non hdcp projector, you cant use it with an hdcp encryted dvd player. However, you can use an hdcp projector with a non hdcp player. Now when you put a scaler in there, if it accepts an hdcp signal, it can only output this as hdcp encrypted (i.e. you can take dvi hdcp in and output analogue RGBHV for instance). If the scaler (even if it is hdcp compatible) accepts a non hdcp dvi/hdmi signal, then it can output it as non hdcp over dvi or it could output as analogue. So basically HDCP is a great way to confuse things until it is everywhere.

    At the moment, it seems the best way isnt using dvi anyhow. It is using sdi because this will be unencrypted so no worries about whether your display is compatible or such. Of course you can buy a scaler which will accomodate you if you want to possibly use an hdcp signal, that being one of the new lumagen scalers (I have one on order).

    As far as what can be sdi modified, most players that someone has spent enough time researching have been modifiable. Though it does need stating that if you dont want one which has already been done, it may be very far from simple! The king in the UK is the arcam dv27 which excels in audio and video whilst the panasonic ra/rp82 is probably the next favoured and can be had below £400 (i sold mine at £300). Its a case of looking really..... as far as other things that can be done..... sky boxes, sky+, tivo I think..... if you want to find whether any specific device can be modded, Elliot at pj hifi is the best man, if he doesnt know, im sure he might have a look into it for you.

    hope that clarifies things a bit!

    ad
     
  19. vonhosen

    vonhosen
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,835
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +13
    PMS are doing Denon A11 , 2900 & 2200 with SDI out now as well.
     
  20. zapata

    zapata
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Messages:
    616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Camberley
    Ratings:
    +17
    @buns Thanks for the reply ! I thinks it's always best to know the full subject before parting with your reddies ! Seems like things are changing as fast as the computer world with new models/technologies etc.
     
  21. mutley

    mutley
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    445
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Portugal
    Ratings:
    +2
    is the output resolution costumable, for the likes of a Sony HS10?
     
  22. cj

    cj
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    1,457
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +74
    Yes the output resolution is fully customizable. It also comes with a number of pre-configured output resolutions. If you want it any easier, there is also a 'Preset Model' menu - the models in the firmware I have include the Sony HS10 :)
     
  23. David PluggedIn

    David PluggedIn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    544
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +10
    for those of you waiting patiently for Crystalio we are offering promotional pricing through till the end of June, for example we will modify your Sky+ V1 box to add SDI input free of charge when purchasing a Crystalio processor..contact us for more details!

    cheers
     
  24. cj

    cj
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    1,457
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +74
    I know some of you have been getting impatient, so here are my initial
    impressions. It's not an in-depth technical review - I'll leave that to
    those who are better qualified than me - just my experiences so far.

    I do have more stuff to try out - some Avia Test patterns, Plasma hook-up
    etc. and I'll add further comments when I've played some more.

    I purchased the unit on a 14 day home trial from http://www.pluggedin.tv , so really had nothing to lose.

    I have some quite varied kit and connections to try out, but the setup so
    far has been this: -

    Inputs: -
    Tag Mclaren DVD32FLR + PSM192
    Sky+ digital satellite (has SVideo and SDI connections)
    XBox (modded + HiDef)
    HTPC (Radeon 9800 Pro + Sweetspot + XCard)

    Output: -
    Runco CL-710 DLP projector via 10m runs of both DVI (Cobalt Cables) and
    component cable (Nordost Optix) onto a Stewart Studiotek 130 Luxus Model A.

    Initial setup of the Crystalio was a breeze - I was expecting something a
    lot trickier. Basically, I unpacked it, plugged it in, connected my Sky+ box
    (via SVideo) and switched it on. The "boot-up" takes around 60 seconds. I
    then selected my screen aspect (16:9), and output resolution (1280 x 720)
    and that was it. I'd not opened the manual yet - I like equipment that works
    out of the box.
    Next I connected the Sky+ via SDI - this required a small adjustment to the
    picture position and zoom settings, but again this was achieved without
    doing any reading - the interface is simple and intuitive.

    The most noticeable difference for me so far is watching sports programs -
    the action is smoother and appears more detailed, and the pitch markings are
    now smooth lines instead of jagged.
    The picture from my Tag DVD32 is stunning - it's connected via it's analogue
    interlaced connections to enable the Crystalio to do the deinterlacing.
    Looks like I'm going to have to start re-watching all my favourite DVDs.

    I know looks aren't everything, but I have to make the point 2U case and
    display is simply the best looking piece of equipment in my rack - it looks
    fantastic. The remote control is a backlit, fully programmable touch-screen
    model: - it even has an adjustable light sensor so you can adjust how dark
    it is before the backlight comes on :)

    The 'cons' for me so far is no on-screen display (although looking at that
    fantastic blue LCD display makes up for it) and the 2 HD inputs have DVI and
    VGA type connections - I've had to order some new cables as mine are all
    RCA/BNC terminated.

    In summary, it's a fantastic piece of kit that has an intuitive and
    simple interface (even my girlfriend has used it!), as well as a whole host
    of advanced features. I like that the fact it has Ethernet and USB
    connections, and there is also a large slot on the back for "future
    expansion".
    I've got a whole lot more playing to do, and connection combinations and
    comparisons, but there's no question of me sending it back, it's definitely staying. :D
     
  25. loonatic

    loonatic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    1,877
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Springwell Village, Gateshead
    Ratings:
    +16
    Hi CJ,

    I am seriously considering the Crystalio scaler to partner my 50" Panny PW6 and also get my Sky+ and Denon 2900 SDI modded at the same time.

    I have read the specs and the manual for the Crystalio and it seems to do everything I want but just wondered what plasma you had and how you planned to connect it to the Crystalio ? and also if you had considered the iScan HD or Lumagen (or any other scalers) why you decided on the Crystalio - ignoring availability.

    Cheers, Lee

    PS I have to agree with you that it is one sexy looking bit of kit :smashin:
     
  26. cj

    cj
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    1,457
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +74
    Hi Lee,

    my Plasma is a Toshiba 42" WP16, which so I'm told is a "re-badged" Panny. It's connected via analogue to the Crystalio as I don't have a DVI board. The Crystalio has pre-configured settings for a number of models, including the Panny 42" - so setup was a trivial matter.

    Why did I pick the Crystalio? , I've been looking for a scaler for well over 6 months and of course arrived at the same 3 scalers you have. The IScan is actually a SD scaler, so that left me with the Lumagen HDP Pro or the Crystalio. Specification wise both seem to have all the "bells and whistles" - I picked the Crystalio for a number of reasons including the fact I can have one now (I'm tired of waiting!), IMO it's nicer looking by a country mile (the finish on the case is just top class), I like fact it has ethernet and USB connectivity, I have other products from PMS (Sweetspot/Xcard, SDI mods and capture cards) and the UK service and support I've received has been top class.

    I too deliberated for quite a while, but I finally made my decision after some long conversations with a Cine9 owning Crystalio beta tester, who actually sells Lumagens as well. But bear in mind the HDP Pro hasn't been released yet, and the Crystalio has a higher RRP.

    At the end of day with a 14 day money-back home trial, what had I got to lose?
     
  27. cj

    cj
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    1,457
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +74
    P.S. I've been asked by a couple of people, and yes my Sky+ mod is a PMS one. No, I definitely do not see any sparkles or green bands, even over my 10m DVI cable.
     
  28. mutley

    mutley
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    445
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Portugal
    Ratings:
    +2
    the analogue output is via RCA, BNC ou HD-15?
     
  29. loonatic

    loonatic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    1,877
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Springwell Village, Gateshead
    Ratings:
    +16
    Hey Mutley,

    The analogue output is via 5 BNC connectors through which you can either output YUV or RGBHV.

    Cheers, Lee
     
  30. loonatic

    loonatic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    1,877
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Springwell Village, Gateshead
    Ratings:
    +16
    Apparently the hardware is in place to support HDCP but it is not enabled due to some licensing restrictions or something and that it should be enabled in a future firmware upgrade.

    But as Buns has said not too much of an issue over here at the moment but maybe more of an issue for our freinds over the pond.

    Cheers, Lee
     

Share This Page

Loading...