Crysis fps issue my specs

Discussion in 'PC Gaming & Rigs' started by smithy, Mar 12, 2013.

  1. smithy

    smithy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Amd bulldozer fx 4170 quad core processor
    Asus m5a78l-m USB3 hdmi motherboard
    Patriot 8GB 1600Mhz dual channel DDR3 viper 3 black mamba ram memory
    Asus GeForce gtx660 ti 2GB

    WD Caviar Green 1TB SATA III 6GB/s Internal Hard Drive 3.5 inch

    Windows 7 ultimate 64 bit

    Crysis on ultra I get about 27 fps max and when things go crazy it drops to 17-15 fps

    Anybody see a reason for this
    Be as blunt as you can
     
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2013
  2. jackw123

    jackw123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011
    Messages:
    172
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +21
    Cpu bottleneck i guess. Crysis is a beast to run on ultra with playable fps. What wattage is your psu? Maybe your rig isnt getting enough juice to power your gpu properly although i find it unlikely
     
  3. smithy

    smithy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    I figured maybe a CPU bottleneck
    Maybe a switch to intel core ....
     
  4. mr_yogi

    mr_yogi
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    1,639
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +173
    What resolution are you running at, because if you are at 1080p or more you need a whole new system. Crysis on Ultra still requires an awesome PC even today. In fact I think Warhead actually ran better than the original, and Crysis 2 even better again. But sure a Quad core Bulldozer won't be helping.
     
  5. GMC79

    GMC79
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    10,641
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +3,177
    how much AA? 8x will hammer it, stick to 2x or 4x and will be better. Also are you meaning crysis 1? Saying ultra thought u may mean 3.
    If not what i done when had my 6870 on crysis1/warhead is set water and textures highest, with the rest down 1 with 4x AA and motion blur off and got 30-60 fps.
     
  6. smithy

    smithy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
  7. mozza54

    mozza54
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    3,298
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Rotherham
    Ratings:
    +432
    thats a suprise you cant get it running, I ran it in 1080p on a 960t with 8gb ram and a GTX460
     
  8. Razor

    Razor
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,726
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,503
    Even though Crysis is an old game you wont get anywhere near 60 fps at max settings with your current rig. Crysis is still a demanding game due to the eye candy it can serve up. However you can make it playable by turning down a few settings. Make sure AA is set to no more than 2x, turn off blurring, physics and turn down shadows. This should help raise your frame rates. If that hasn't helped enough then look to turn down water and texture effects.
     
  9. smithy

    smithy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Mozza what settings are you playing at?
     
  10. GMC79

    GMC79
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    10,641
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +3,177
    ur cpu must be on par or better than mine and the 660 must be similar to my 6870, i'll load up crysis and post my settings i used.
     
  11. smithy

    smithy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    I'm not even aiming for 60 fps, A steady 30 would suit me
     
  12. GMC79

    GMC79
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    10,641
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +3,177
    Try these, like Razor said dont be shy to turn down others like shadows or post processing even physics to medium and gain frames and on the other graphics tab untick vsync (usually gains nice frames) and use 2xAA and see how you go. Using water and textures on max is best way to keep game looking near it's best tho. Should get 30 , but dont forget this crysis always been a bugger, warhead runs much easier.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2013
  13. mozza54

    mozza54
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    3,298
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Rotherham
    Ratings:
    +432
    I just did it to test the setting so I whacked everything up to its highest apart from as which I put to x4 and it ran really well. I was quite suprised
     

Share This Page

Loading...