1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

CRT resolutions

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by cosaw, Jun 21, 2003.

1. cosaw

cosaw

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +19
    Hi

I'm new to CRTs and a have a question about resolutions.

In passing I read another thread and Roland said in relation to the Barco 801s:

"Aim to run your PC at 800x600 for the 16x9 mode 1024x768 for 4x3."

Can you explain to me Roland or anyone else: With regard to widescreen playback and DVD. The max res of a PAL dvd is 720x576. Can this max resolution be viewed at 800x600 on a CRT? I know on my PC with a 4:3 screen ratio this is not possible, yes all the image will fit but this is before the anamorphic image is stretched horizontally by which time the image would be off the screen if power DVD didn't compensate by scaling to screen size by interpolating (or whatever the software does) some of the horizontal lines of resolution. If I move up to a res like 1152x864 then mathematically all the image data should be able to be seen. You can see the picture quality is better cos all aliasing is removed.

Do the CRTpjs handle it differently? I don't want to look at a great big image if I'm not seeing the whole res and can see aliasing. It would seem that the native res of a CRT would be more similar to a 4:3 ratio due to the square phosphor area?

Thanks all

cosaw

2. Stuart Wright

Stuart Wright
    AVForums Founder Staff Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +9,412
    I would say that most CRT owners use them set up for 16:9 and use 16:9 screens.
    Most people also watch NTSC rather than PAL because NTSC DVDs are generally better and/or available earlier.