1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

CRT Projectors...

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Mythical, Dec 14, 2004.

1. Mythical

Mythical

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all,

I am looking at buying a CRT projector. I was hoping to find out if all CRT projectors need to be opened to get the tubes lined up (sorry if the terminology is incorrect, i'm new to this). I basically want a projector which doesn't need to be opened and is genrally quite plug and play. Do any CRT's work like this?

2. Gordon @ Convergent AV

Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,803
    No.

You need to physically align the tubes then electronically do the convergence and geometry. CRT is not plug and play. Once it's done properly though it's as good as plug and play....

Gordon

3. LV426

LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +5,032
    Just to add.........this adjustment (which can take, say, half a day to do right) needs to be done EVERY time either the projector or screen is moved, even a little bit. So - you need a completely FIXED installation, for both.

4. filmmonkey

filmmonkey

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would like to add, from the perspective of a relative newcomer to this field, that you shouldn't be put off by the prospect of 'opening up' the projector to align the tubes. In my case (electrohome ecp 3100) this turned out to involve simply removing the outermost plastic cover then performing what was a quite rudimentary operation that was very well described by both the on screen menu and the service manuals I found online.

Actually getting a pretty good picture up and running was very easy, and incredibly rewarding.