1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

CRT and Quadscan Pro. Do I need a PS DVD player

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Messiah, Sep 2, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,534
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    I have a Philips 962SA. As I will be using the Quadscan with the CRT will the PS part of the player be used/worthwhile or will I be better going to a non PS player?

    Thanks, and sorry if this is a stupid question :blush:
     
  2. museumsteve

    museumsteve
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    7,629
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Nth Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +1,023
    wont need a PS player with a Quadscan mate. I trialled a Quadscan and loved it although a good deal on an Iscan made my mind up (at the time).
    Just opt for the best DVD player you can, preferably with component, infact personally I'd keep the Sony 7700 (I had one of those too) and only got rid of it for DVD-A of my Pioneer (possibly another cock-up) but saying that I don;t know anything about the Philips so it may be a top player..:)
     
  3. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,534
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    Thanks museumsteve.

    To be honest I didn't rate the component out on the S7700 and have a Tosh SD900E driving my Plasma. Just love that but of course it does not do PAL PS. However, as I will not need PS with the Quadscan Pro I would love to get another SD900E if I can find a 2nd hand one.

    What's a fair price for a QS Pro?
     
  4. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    14,011
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,808
    The Quadscan Pro doesn't have 2:2 pulldown detection for the accurate de-interlacing if film sourced PAL material. So if you are looking for something to use with your plasma an Iscan would be a much better bet...You also need to check that the plasma accepts 576P as many do not..

    Gordon
     
  5. museumsteve

    museumsteve
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    7,629
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Nth Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +1,023
    thanks Gordon, now I didn;t realise that about the QS. I have an Iscan which will probably be staying as I should be able to sort my lip sync problem out with an upgraded Denon..
    I can't fault the Iscan's image quality at all and think the image adjustments on the unit are a big plus (I was looking at a Deuce SDQ which doesn;t have any)..
    Anyway I'm rambling..:)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

Loading...