Crossover settings, still learning

chugger93

Novice Member
I have a pair of Klipsh synergy F2 floorspeakers. I have a Onkyo receiver and trying to set crossover settings in my AVR. I can't seem to find the specs for what these speakers should be set too. In the spec sheet all it says is: CROSSOVER FREQUENCY 2100Hz

I can't imagine I would set that to 2100 on my AVR. Does that just mean what its max is? Whats the best way to determine this, my center channel and rears for what the crossover should be set too.

TIA

kaiserjoe

Google says "39 - 23000" so stick to about 40 and see how it goes. Anything lower and it won't be audible (I think, I'm no expert either) as that's where a sub would normally kick in.

Kapkirk

Let me explain!
The 2.1kHz crossover value you are seeing in the spec for your speakers is the point at which the bass/mid woofer crosses to the tweeter which is fixed by the manufacturer and cannot be changed and has nothing to do with the crossover over frequency setting in your Onkyo so ignore that completely.
If they are large floor standing speakers, the crossover setting on the Onkyo can be set very low as Kaiserjoe has pointed out -around 40-50Hz (because they can handle low bass) a higher setting is only needed if you have a subwoofer and would prefer the sub to do the hard work with the lower bass instead of letting small bookshelf speakers take the bass.
For example~ say I used small bookshelf speakers for my main front/left and a Subwoofer, I would set my surround amplifier to small speakers and select cut off bass at 80Hz (this means all frequencies below 80Hz will be (cut) or sent to the Subwoofer but NOT the speakers, they will get everything else upto 20Khz) You would then set the control on the subwoofer to take over below 80Hz to fill in the bass your small bookshelf speakers are now not getting.