Crossover Hz

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by pupsta8910, Feb 12, 2014.

1. pupsta8910

pupsta8910

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +9
    Question :

I have the Sony 1040 AV & Q Acoustics 7000i speakers 5.1

Ran the auto calibration and originally it put my speakers to "Large" with a Crossover of 120hz to each speaker.

Subwoofer was around -6.0 db

Reading up it would appear i should set the speakers to small which i have now done. (presume this is correct).

Am i right in thinking i should set the hz of all my speakers to 80/85 hz rather than the detected 120hz?

On the subwoofer itself should i turn this all the way up till it reaches the "AV" (max) to allow the AV to control or manually put this to 120hz on the turn knob on the sub?

Sounds good as it is but wanted to check as would have presumed the new Auto calibration would fine tune already as i am a complete newbie.

2. pupsta8910

pupsta8910

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +9
    Speakers range from 95hz-20hz
    sub - 35-200hz

3. PSM1

PSM1
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +5,440
    Since your speakers only go down to 95hz then you should not set to 80Hz since the speakers can not go that low.
    If the speakers were set to large then there would be no crossover setting since a full range signal would go to all speakers. If the fronts were set to large but the rest small then the crossover would only be active on the speakers set to small.
    Setting all speakers to small is the right thing to do. 120Hz does not sound too far wrong for the crossover setting either. You could try 100 or 110Hz but if sounds OK as it is and you can not locate the sub then I would leave it as it is. As for the sub crossover leave this set to the max or AV setting.

4. pupsta8910

pupsta8910

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +9