Question Crossover help needed

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by tim1982, Aug 5, 2018.

1. tim1982

tim1982

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +127
    Hi all

First off sorry if this is the wrong thread to ask in and sorry if it's been asked a billion times before!

I have recently bought an onkyo tx- nr676 av and some speakers for my first ever 5.1.2 set up, I've never owned an av or speaker package before so please treat me as a total newbie!

On running the initial set up I seem to keep getting a crossover of 40hz on the front 3 speakers and 150hz for rears and 180hz for front heights. My left, cantre and right are all matching and on the spec sheet say they run between 64hz and 22khz so I'm assuming they are set to low for there range? The rears and height are pretty much dead on as they can only run between 150hz and 20khz.

Should I self adjust the front 3 crossovers to a higher setting or leave it?

Also I noticed the heights are slightly drowned out by the fronts so again should I up the db?

Thanks for any advice

2. mb3195

mb3195

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,853
    Change your speakers to small and start with a crossover for the fronts around 100 but definitely no lower than 80.

Listen to how it sounds and adjust to your taste.

3. tim1982

tim1982

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +127
    Thanks have moved them up to 80, just my untrained brain but why never below 80?

4. dante01

dante01
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +11,225
    You ideally set the crossovers about 1/2 an octave higher than the lowest frequency the loudspeaker can effectively reproduce. For example, if your main speakers are rated flat down to 60Hz, then you'd set the crossover to 80-90Hz for those channels.

You should basically try to set crossovers at least 10Hz higher than the speakers lowest rated frequency handling ability.