Creating US account.

Discussion in 'Playstation Forums' started by Dave Bartram, Apr 28, 2007.

  1. Dave Bartram

    Dave Bartram
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2001
    Messages:
    1,015
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +61
    Daft question I'm sure but when I log out of my UK account so I can create a US one I can't find the option to create new account...I know I'm missing something but what?? :confused: :D

    Dave
     
  2. nofear01

    nofear01
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Messages:
    2,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +86
    I would be interested to know that

    Do you get alternate content to download if it is registered as US?
     
  3. WYNIR0

    WYNIR0
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Messages:
    190
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +12
    You need to create a new user (on the left hand side of the XMB) and then log in as that user. Then go to the far right of the XMB and register to the PSN. Use a US address and bos is your uncle.

    Did this myself for the 1st time this week and there is much more content.

    Believe you can do teh same for the hong kong store (using a hk address natch) for even more content.

    HTH.
     
  4. geomuss

    geomuss
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Messages:
    2,041
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    musselburgh
    Ratings:
    +158
    done it for the first time this week, and downloaded C&C

    cant wait now for the full version!!!

    also downloaded HD video :D :D

    whoops meant to post that in 360 forum, sorry
     
  5. Dave Bartram

    Dave Bartram
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2001
    Messages:
    1,015
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +61
    Nice one, thanks for that.

     
  6. Moogle

    Moogle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    13,751
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,398
    You can also setup a Japanese account although it's not as easy as the others as most of the setup procedure is in Japanese. There are step by step guides on the net for it though. Just have to do a google search to find them.
     
  7. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,992
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,149
    here's a good guide I used to create a Japanese PSN account!
     
  8. Kevin340

    Kevin340
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    80
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +28
    Dave, don't forget to look up a genuine USA zip code on Google before you start the USA registration (i used --- Houston, TX 77096---) although the rest of the address you can just make up.
     
  9. Dave Bartram

    Dave Bartram
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2001
    Messages:
    1,015
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +61
    Done the US one no probs, just used a hotel in Orlando I've stayed at. Will try the Jap one later.

    Thanks for the tips guys.
     
  10. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,992
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,149
    You can pretty much make up all of the details for the Jap one too, the guide just helps you inwhere to input the info!
     
  11. Batdog

    Batdog
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,826
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    84
    Ratings:
    +467
    Hi guys

    I'm having a problem in that when I'm trying to set up a US Master Account it wants to know whether the address I've given (Hilton Hotel New York!!) is the registered address for my Credit Card and I don't want to say yes as I can imagine my card will start getting rejected as Mastercard will suspect that there's fraud taking place.

    It also won't let me set up the other type of account as the Master Account card registered address is not in the USA.

    What have you guys done to get around this?

    Cheers

    p.s. Is all the contect from the other stores fully compatible with UK PS3's?
     
  12. Moogle

    Moogle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    13,751
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,398
    You can only register Mastercards on the US accounts now. A lot of people use them and have no problem. You can only add funds in small amounts anyway and for those there is no card verification. Regards compatibility, yes all content from all stores will work on PS3's from any region.
     
  13. Batdog

    Batdog
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,826
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    84
    Ratings:
    +467

    Registered now, thanks!!
     
  14. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,992
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,149
    You can even start to download from the US site and then go back to your UK profile! :smashin:
     
  15. Moogle

    Moogle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    13,751
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,398
    I've always wondered about that but never bothered to try it as I though the disconnection and reconnection would stop the download completely. I guess I will have to try it.
     
  16. MaiaMan

    MaiaMan
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2006
    Messages:
    146
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +1
    Just created mine. There's much more to choose from, than with my original account (Portugal). Thanks guys.
     
  17. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,992
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,149
    What's also great is that if you half way through a download and turn the system off, it will carry on from where you left off!
     
  18. Moogle

    Moogle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    13,751
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,398
    If I recall that was a recent firmware addition. As far as I remember in the beginning if I got disconnected or turned the console off I would have to start downloading from the beginning again. I think that is something the 360 had from the start. I think the functionality of the PS3 is getting better but it's a shame it's going to require several more firmware updates before it can actually be called full featured.
     
  19. bladesew

    bladesew
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Messages:
    74
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    There's not a lot of free stuff on the Japan store as far as I can see - the US store has more demos and trailers.
     
  20. Dazza Cole

    Dazza Cole
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,095
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Palm Jumeirah, Dubai
    Ratings:
    +21
    When creating a second account do you need to use a different email to the first one? As i've just got the message that I "can't use that email address"
     
  21. reddevil63

    reddevil63
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    5,538
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Disney Florida's Twinned Town
    Ratings:
    +851

    Yes, use something like [email protected]
     
  22. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,992
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,149
    As long as its different from your other account and is a legitimate email account then it should work!
     
  23. Moogle

    Moogle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    13,751
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,398
    I don't think it needs to be a valid email but it helps if it is especially if you're going to but premium content. That way they can send you an email confirming the purchase.
     
  24. eddyman1990

    eddyman1990
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    hey ive just started trying to create a new account cud somebody plz give me a decent us adrees because i cant think of any lol. cheers in advance.
     
  25. Del Boy Smiffy

    Del Boy Smiffy
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2004
    Messages:
    6,531
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Yeovil
    Ratings:
    +418
    2871 Palm Tree Drive, Beverley Hills, Calafornia, 90210
     
  26. Tony Hoyle

    Tony Hoyle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Messages:
    3,347
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Stockport
    Ratings:
    +231
    You can use + notation on most ISPs (notably not hotmail, but it works on the others I've used)

    So instead of

    [email protected]

    You can use

    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    etc.

    These are all the same email address but the sony checker doesn't realize it..
     
  27. eddyman1990

    eddyman1990
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  28. micks_address

    micks_address
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2001
    Messages:
    4,671
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Dublin
    Ratings:
    +239
    will try tonight to reg to us account.. quick question - if you download stuff, does it appear under the games for all users or just the user you downloaded it under?

    cheers,
    mick
     
  29. peepingtom

    peepingtom
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2006
    Messages:
    297
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +54
    all users mate :)
     
  30. micks_address

    micks_address
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2001
    Messages:
    4,671
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Dublin
    Ratings:
    +239
    just set up... wow US store has way more than uk store :( anyone else notice that the US store seems to be much faster to navigate around? maybe the downtime this week in the uk store was to increase banwitdh so they can add more content?
     

Share This Page

Loading...