Creating Folders on SBT

Drongo

Distinguished Member
Reaction score
Hi

Thanks to the superhuman efforts of forum member cjed; I managed to set up my Logitec Squeezebox Touch and ReadyNAS.

I have been using it for several months with only minor hiccups (which I may well ask about later on) but now need some assistance with something that I am sure is very simple; but seems to be beyond me… :facepalm:

I use dBpoweramp to rip my CD’s which are all arranged alphabetically.

What I would like to do (without hopefully re-ripping everything) is to arrange the contents into folders i.e.

1) Rock & Pop
2) Jazz
3) Classical
4) Opera
5) Mrs Drongo’s Music
6) Audio Books
7) Audio Plays

I’m sure that this must be possible? But how? :rolleyes: Obviously; I should have done this to begin with; but there we are.... :blush:

I thought it would simply be a matter of creating a folder within the CD RIPS folder that the CD’s ripped on dBpoweramp go to.

I created the folder and put one of my wife’s CD’s into it; it’s visible on Windows Explorer; but not when I search the files on the squeezebox; even after rescanning.

The path to my NAS as set on dBpoweramp:

dbpoweramp.jpg

My music folders as seen in Windows Explorer:

musicfolder1.jpg

The subfolder I created for my wife (Marilyn) which contains the All Angels CD. As you can see; it's there on Windows Explorer but not visible via the Squeezebox:

musicfolders2.jpg

What have I done wrong and what do I need to do to create folders that I can access via the SBT? :blush:

As you can probably tell, with regards to everything computer/IT related, I am a complete and utter moron.

Please keep your explanations nice and simple.:D

Many Thanks

Drongo

I may be oversimplifying here, and sorry if I'm not directliy answering your question but;

As the Squeezebox apps for Android and IOS all have sort/select via album, artist, or genre, capabilities I let the Squeezebox do the heavy lifting.