1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

CPU cooling

Discussion in 'Computer Components' started by ReTrO, Feb 28, 2001.

  1. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    If you want to overclock your CPU and are afraid of it over heating. then get a cooling kit
    The top one os only £125+p&p, I may buy one me-self!
    http://www.watercooling.co.uk/

    Rick

    ------------------
    'I am just a figment of your imagination.'

    Work Site: The Sound Gallery
    Home Site: WD A.V.
     
  2. Jenz

    Jenz
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Rick,

    I went with one of the 330W QuietFan PSU's from Scan. Really quiet and half the price [​IMG]
     
  3. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    It's a CPU water-cooler, not a PSU unit. I will have it in a cabinet to keep the nosie down anyway.

    Rick

    ------------------
    'I am just a figment of your imagination.'

    Work Site: The Sound Gallery
    Home Site: WD A.V.
     
  4. Ars longa, vita brevis

    Ars longa, vita brevis
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    why don't you get yourselves kryotech cases, inbuilt refridgeration, not sure how much they cost though. Should help you squeeze the most out of you CPU before it melts though, and you could also overclock other things such as graphics card and RAM.

    ------------------
    Assumption is the mother of all errors

    member formerly known as hank hill, then Jesus H
    but got bored so it became some latin sh*t
     
  5. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    Kryotech is a little out of my price range, and area range!

    There is a new pasive cooling sytem that looks quite good though, made in Korea so don't know when we'll get it. It will cool CPU, graphics, and HDD and sound card on same pipe.

    Try:http://www.cnssystem.com/product.html

    Rick

    ------------------
    'I am just a figment of your imagination.'

    Work Site: The Sound Gallery
    Home Site: WD A.V.
     
  6. Radioactive__Man

    Radioactive__Man
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2001
    Messages:
    948
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +18
    Just get an Alpha and some silver paste, my old PIII-700 would hit 933 @ default voltage and 32degrees. My current PIII-850 runs @ 1133 1.85v 35degrees. Both setups had a slightly "breathed on" GeforceII GTS cooking lightly beneath them with no problems.
    Almost went for a 50W Peltier but couldn't be arsed changing my power supply.

    PC overclocked, brain underclocked ! [​IMG]
     
  7. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +256
    Peltier coolers generate heat, so unless you have lots of ventilation they don't work.
     
  8. Radioactive__Man

    Radioactive__Man
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2001
    Messages:
    948
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +18
    Yes I know that Jeff, and the heat generated is determined by the amount of voltage/clock speed applied to the chip, the efficiency of the cold plate/peltier interface and how close your mouth is to the air intake on the front of the case !!!.
    I was merely trying to offer an alternative solution to sucessful overclocking, and pointing out that the cost of a Peltier should also include a decent PSU, unless you already have an Athlon specced PSU.
    I aint a novice to overclocking, been doing it since my 486DX66, and the tone [all 14 words [​IMG]]of your reply infers that I am giving out inaccurate/uninformed information.

    If that was your intention, stick it where the sun don't shine. Today is [I think]the 1st time I've posted in the HCPC forum, and if this is the type of response that is common, it will be my last.

    If it wasn't your intention then by all means accept my sincere apologies and feel free to brand me "over sensitive & hot tempered" [​IMG]

    ______________________

    I'll get me coat !

    ______________________
     
  9. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +256
    I was just giving some simple yet valuable advise based on the fact that I have used peltier coolers in the past and although it maybe an obvious point that they generate heat, most people seem to forget this. Even with lots of ventilation peltier cooling isn't the answer in most cases.
     

Share This Page

Loading...