1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Covering Wires

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by Hicksy, Aug 5, 2004.

1. Hicksy

Hicksy

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Guys, ABout to wall mount my Plasma but unfortunately my sockets are on the tv itself and will mean having 3 wires dripping from the bottom of the tv!

As I am new to the world of flat panels (and the associated problems!!), can anyone suggest the common way of hiding these wires?

Much app.

2. sabujo

sabujo

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I guess that depends if wheter or not you are willing to soil your hands with plaster and paint.

3. Apnomis

Apnomis

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +25
    There are a multitude of ways depending on your needs and where it is mounted. Some people just use trunking or use some sort of pole to make it look like the plasma is being held up by the poles and put the wires inside them. If you want a more professional (and permanent) method you get cut out your plasterboard, put the wires behind the wall (possibly through a tube to allow you to add remove them at a later date?) and then replaster the wall and with the wires hidden behind it.

I'm personally going to make a feature out of mine, I've not got round to it yet but I'm going to make a lighting feature out of MDF with a channel down the middle with space for the wires. It's hard to explain until I actually do it, but basically it will have an MDF front (with the wires behind) and light coming out the side, to subtly light the wall my plasma is how to prevent eye strain in a dark room. I'm hoping it'll look pretty neat when it's finished...

4. Hicksy

Hicksy

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh didn't you post a thread about that before? Blue neon lights etc?

Do you think it will be expensive? Difficult?

5. Apnomis