1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Couple of questions about the Panasonic E60

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by russAB, Mar 14, 2004.

1. russAB

russAB

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    ...recently decided that we could do with a dvd recorder. I've read a good number of the the posts here and think that, for what we will want it for....basically recording stuff from TV when we're out, and archiving on occasion (including archiving footage from a camcorder) the panasonic E60 will suit me. The digital camera slots might be useful but I imagine my laptop is an easier way to burn photos to disk? A hdd system sounds cool but I'm stretching the budget (agreed with the missus :D) with the E60.

I wondered though if someone could do me a big favour and help me with a couple of things, as i'm pretty new to all this stuff:

1. Presumably it will act as a normal DVD player quite happily? We currently have one of those basic Matsui £100 supermarket jobs which it would be replacing, so I'm guessing I'll not be losing any functionality. I've got a basic surround sound system set up (Sony STR-DE445 receiver and Sony SS-MS5 satellite speakers) and just wanted to check the E60 'talks' to this ok.....being able to listen to DTS was something I wanted when buying surround sound and would like that to carry on.

2. We have a Pace sky digibox, but have stopped our subscription to SKY so we're using it as a freeview box....presumably it'll still record from the digibox ok?

3. We're not in a particular rush, and I've seen from other posts the E65 is due out soon....as it's roughly the same price is it worth the wait?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!!

Russ

2. Rasczak

Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,208