Couple of questions about my new Raspberry Pi

Discussion in 'Video Streaming Boxes & Services' started by rousetafarian, Feb 8, 2014.

1. rousetafarian

rousetafarian

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +15,612
    So, I decided that selling my ATV2 ages ago was a mistake as it made streaming media from my other Apple devices a doddle.

Last week I bought a new Pi running openelec and load of repos, so far, so good bearing in mind I'm a novice at this kind of thing.

Q1) I've downloaded the xbmc remote from the Play store, and all seems fine when the Pi is connected via CAT5 to the router, which in turn connects to a Homeplug. When I deselect the cat5 cable and go wireless - nothing, nada, zip. What do I need to change in the settings?

Q2) How do I, (can I?) stream media files from an external WD 2Tb Firewire HDD that is connected to my iMac on a different floor? The iMac and Pi are on the same network but on different floors...

Q3) Can I stream via Airplay from my iMac as I see an Airplay option under the Pi settings? If so how?

Thanks guys, I appreciate it a lot.

2. next010

next010
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,128
    1) To be honest no clue, you could try setting a fixed IP on the device that would make it easier to connect via the remote so it wouldn't have to scan. Just enter in the IP, connect and leave it at that.

2) You can stream via three ways
    * network shares
    * UPnP/DLNA server - serviio or tvmobili both are available for OSX.
    * XBMC UPnP server - XBMC has it's own built in UPnP server but it means running XBMC at the same time, not so useful yet until they split it off to a standalone server. The XBMC server does provide coverart media library listings unlike third party UPnP/DLNA servers.