1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

could someone from arcam please look in

Discussion in 'Arcam Owners' Forum' started by jmack, Feb 24, 2004.

Tags:
  1. jmack

    jmack
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  2. robocop

    robocop
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2000
    Messages:
    646
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Old Detroit a.k.a. Chippenham. Wilts
    Ratings:
    +23
    Try them on 01223 203203
     
  3. jmack

    jmack
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    its hard to explain over the phone i was hoping to show them the pics.

    thanks for number , i will wait to see if anyone sees this tread from arcam, and maybe phone them end of week.
     
  4. jmack

    jmack
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    cheers robocop

    problem fixed, well not yet need to go back to arcam for a mod, its a known fix , something to do with sheliding.
     
  5. jmack

    jmack
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    just got my dvd player back from arcam , no differance at all with the progressive scan output interferance all over the screen. on interlased its fine , but always was.

    not very happy , if its got to go back again i hope they will pay postage this time :( :( :( :( .

    not sure if anything has been done to it. no updated driveware? not sure if there is one, but mine is still on lt76




    terence8888

    how are you getting on with your problem.
     
  6. jmack

    jmack
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    update from arcam they picking it up on wed. they paying postage and hopefully sort the problem out.

    so fingers crossed.
     
  7. bedders

    bedders
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2003
    Messages:
    219
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +2
    Latest firmware for the DV88+ is now LT78, have just had mine upgraded today.

    As far as I know the newer f/w resolves an issue playing a particular Celine Dion CD etc.

    Latest software for DV88+ is 4.18.0, there's another thread which discusses what this updates...
     
  8. jmack

    jmack
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    small update.

    arcam have been testing my player i say they cannot see the problem as it passed there tests?:( :( :(

    everyone i have showed can see it on mine ... . its seems a few people here have or had this problem with different results from arcam . either been told its not the dvd player or had the player replaced.

    :( :( :( :(
     
  9. thxultra

    thxultra
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Messages:
    380
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    glasgow
    Ratings:
    +4
    I had the same problem about a year ago with my 88+ on a panny 5.Tried several diffrent machines with diffrent plasma's and all had the problem only some were worse than others.
    In the end i payed an extra 600 for the 27+ and never had a problem
     
  10. jmack

    jmack
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  11. cameronl

    cameronl
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,146
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +11
    I had similar problems a while back; this is how I fixed them.

    DV88+ progressive on Sim2 DMF

    Replaced power supply (most likely not needed)
    latest software/firmware
    upgraded progressive scan board to Sil503 (lovely)

    this fixed half the problems

    Sim2
    replaced input box (progressive board was faulty)

    this fixed more of the problems

    upgraded component cable (lovely)

    this fixed the rest of the problems

    While I don't have a panny and my problems were the sum of yours and more - I did in the end fix it. Have you tried swapping out your component cables and also plugging your DV88+ into another source that accepts progressive?

    CaM
     
  12. jmack

    jmack
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    i have tried 3 different component cables and the result is all the same. i have tried my dvd player on another plasma with same result, and i have tried a different dvd player on my plasma with progressive scan and its all fine.

    i`m not paying for a upgrade to the sil chip set. arcam are having trouble seeing what i`m seeing:( :( :( :(

    will keap you all posted.
     
  13. cameronl

    cameronl
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,146
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +11
    When you tried it on another plasma was it the same type or another type?

    CaM
     
  14. jmack

    jmack
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    it was a 5 series panasonic and mine is a clone of the 4 series.

    arcam have been testing my player with a 5 series panasonic . but say they cant see the problem:( :( :(
     
  15. jmack

    jmack
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    small update

    arcam phoned they have been testing my player and in there words there was a slight devation from the specs. so they have changed some board.

    they could still could not see the problem though, and if its still there when i get it back tomorrow i have been told its not the player at faullt......


    its strange that i have seen it on 2 seperate plasma`s and my cheap £45 dvd player does not show it :( :( :(


    will reserve judgement till tomorrow , i hope its sorted and can get back to enjoying films and cd`s:D :D :D .

    but if its not fixed its tuff
     
  16. cameronl

    cameronl
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,146
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +11
    hm, what about pluggin in another DV88+ and seeing if it has the same problem?

    Where are you located?

    thanks

    CaM
     
  17. jmack

    jmack
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    i`m in cardiff.
     
  18. cameronl

    cameronl
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,146
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +11
    oh well, if you had been in my area (Richmond, Surrey) we could have tried my DV88+...

    good luck, I hope it works out for you

    CaM:)
     
  19. jmack

    jmack
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    cheers for the thought anyway mate.

    ;) ;) ;)
     
  20. jmack

    jmack
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    update just got my dvd player back and all seems fine.

    been looking for the dot crawl and cant see it on progressive scan.

    i think they change some board in it.

    but we got there in the end and i`m happy:D :D :D :D


    big thanks to matt frost for sorting it out
     
  21. cameronl

    cameronl
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,146
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +11
    thats excellant news :clap:

    CaM
     

Share This Page

Loading...