1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Could Skys 'red dot' do any damage to my Plasma?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by Jon Weaver, Nov 24, 2002.

  1. Jon Weaver

    Jon Weaver
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2000
    Messages:
    6,002
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Born in Bristol but now in Newport, (for my sins)
    Ratings:
    +639
    I just got back from a business trip and came back to find my wife watching "Big Brother Live" on E4.

    Apparantly, she has been doing this a lot over the last few days.

    To my horror, I noticed the 'Red Dot' at the top right of the screen.. Fortunatly, it hasn't done any damage, but I am wonder how long it would have to be there to burn the screen.

    Its not like a 'dog' which is transparant, the 'red dot' is solid in colour.

    Saying that, there are ad breaks ever so often, so the dot isn't ALWAYS there.

    After whiching a VERY large rear projection TV in my hotel bar all week, which has been destroyed by them running CNN all day, I am a little paranoid about this.

    Is there a real risk of an on-screen logo doing any harm??
     
  2. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,978
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,779
    Jon,

    Not wanting to worry you but, yes there is. You can press the "back" button and the red dot will disappear until after the next add break. Or you could get her to watch in letterbox mode occassionally to take red dot off the viewing area (that's what I do often with my projector)

    Gordon
     
  3. Napoleon

    Napoleon
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    106
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    If you press the red dot on your sky remote,and 'back-up' on the remote at the same time ,you will remove it,until you change channels.Advert breaks do not bring it back.
     
  4. Jon Weaver

    Jon Weaver
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2000
    Messages:
    6,002
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Born in Bristol but now in Newport, (for my sins)
    Ratings:
    +639
    Already know about the backup button, but the worry I have is that it could just be there and someone could forget to press backup.. They could even be out of the room, leaving the Plasma on.

    The 'red dot' isn't normally a problem, as we only usually watch things from the Sky+ HD, but it worries me how easy I could do damage.
     
  5. JamesTapp

    JamesTapp
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2002
    Messages:
    235
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    This company make a device that sends the backup message every minute for you sky viewers to get rid of the red button:

    http://www.pacelink.co.uk/digimemo.htm

    Hope this helps, seems a small price to pay to prevent screen damage.

    James
     
  6. Jon Weaver

    Jon Weaver
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2000
    Messages:
    6,002
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Born in Bristol but now in Newport, (for my sins)
    Ratings:
    +639
    I thought about using my Pronto to do just that. But there is a MAJOR problem.

    If you were doing anything in the EPG at the same time as the 'backup' code gets sent, you would get chucked out.

    This might be a good idea for a while.. But I would get EXTREMELY p**sed off after a while

    Its worse with Sky+.. 'Backup' will stop playing anything you are watching from the Hard-Drive, which in my case would be 95% of the time.

    So, unfortunatly, this won't work.
     

Share This Page

Loading...