Copying Sky HDD

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by Blu Ray, Nov 25, 2004.

  1. Blu Ray

    Blu Ray
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    495
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Chorley, Lancs
    Ratings:
    +12
    Whilst upgrading the HDDs in my PCs recently, I used Norton Ghost which basically 'cloned' the whole drive including OS and everything. Superb it was, and I was wondering if it would work with a SKy HDD. HAs anyone tried it?
     
  2. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    There's nothing special about the Sky HDD. The video files are stored in the same format as on a PC. However, the video files are encrypted, and must be played back through a decoder, as found in the Sky+ box. This is why you can record two programmes at once (whilst watching a third pre-recorded programme), because there's only one decoder in the box, and data is stored directly to disk in encoded format.
     
  3. Blu Ray

    Blu Ray
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    495
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Chorley, Lancs
    Ratings:
    +12
    Yes, I wan't planning to copy it to watch on the PC or anything. I keep meaning to upgrade the Sky + drive, but there's always a ton of stuff still left to watch on the old one. So, I was wondering if I could copy the old stuff onto the new one but have more space left :)
     
  4. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    I'm not sure you can do that. If you did, there is a strong possibility that the Sky+ box would not be aware of the extra space available. Worth a try though.
     
  5. davidcotton

    davidcotton
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Messages:
    290
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Dorset
    Ratings:
    +6
    Why not just get a bigger hard drive and upgrade it so you have more space that way??
     
  6. Blu Ray

    Blu Ray
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    495
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Chorley, Lancs
    Ratings:
    +12
    That's my plan David. But it seems that, we can never all watch the stuff that's on the old drive before I can upgrade. This is why I wish to port the old stuff onto the new bigger drive. I don't have a DVD recorder on which I can temporarily dump the stuff on either :(
     
  7. Noodle

    Noodle
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    577
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Peterborough
    Ratings:
    +1
    I'm also interested in this as I use my + to record a lot of radio.

    I don't have a cd-r unit or minidisc so I can't get these recordings off the box. I want to upgrade the HDD without losing these.

    Has anybody tried this????
     
  8. richard plumb

    richard plumb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    14,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +1,028
    one of the things ghost allows is to restore your image to a larger partition later on - you can never be certain you'll be able to buy the exact same HDD after a failure. So you should be able to format and restore a sky HDD to a larger drive.

    Surely its worth a try? You won't break anything by plugging the current sky HDD in and doing a ghost to another drive. The original shouldn't be changed at all.
     
  9. Noodle

    Noodle
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    577
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Peterborough
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yeah, I know, but I'd have to buy the bigger drive in order to do this.

    Someone must have tried this when they upgraded.

    :confused:
     

Share This Page

Loading...