Copying from DVD RAM

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by bertJ, Oct 16, 2004.

  1. bertJ

    bertJ
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Messages:
    27
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm thinking of buying a Panasonic S35 or similar to play DVD RAM disks I've recorded and edited on my Panasonic DMR-E55EB. I want to copy the edited DVD RAM disk to a CD-R disk. I'm new to DVD editing and copying but have learnt a lot from experts on this forum. However (and this is probably a stupid question) do DVD RAM disks have to be finalised before they will play on a Panasonic S35 or any other DVD RAM compatible player?
     
  2. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,240
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Warwick
    Ratings:
    +2,282
    No finalisation is necessary - if the player reads DVD-RAMs (as the S35 does) they play.

    You appreciate the S35 and E55 can't do this don't you? You'll need to use a PC and a programme such as TMPG Enc 3Xpress to achieve this. However burning to CD will never give very results - you'd be better off getting yourself a DVD burner (you can pick them up for under £50) and burn to DVD-R.
     
  3. bertJ

    bertJ
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Messages:
    27
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry - I didn't make things very clear. I want to copy the CD RAM disk to CD-R by linking the S35 to my DMR-E55. I intend playing the CD-RAM in the S35 and copying it to the CD-R in the DMR-E55.
     
  4. jerryq7777

    jerryq7777
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    4,261
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +671
    Eh ? :laugh:

    Are you using cd-r 700 MB or dvd-r 4.7 GB ?
     
  5. bertJ

    bertJ
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Messages:
    27
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry again - I'm going mad! I am, of course, using DVD-RAM and DVD-R.
     
  6. Archie Fax

    Archie Fax
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2003
    Messages:
    233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +10
    This is off topic but a nice feature of the e55 is you can change the units remote control code (instruction manual page 15) so that you can use 2 panasonic dvd machines in the same room independantly. The e55's remote control will then only operate the e55 without affecting the the other dvd player.

    I've never copied anything as yet myself though.
     

Share This Page

Loading...