copying BD to Hard drive...

Discussion in 'Playstation Forums' started by oasisnut, Apr 23, 2007.

  1. oasisnut

    oasisnut
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,330
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +27
    hi guys,
    is there anyway you can copy files from BD titles to the Hard drive to watch later.
    i reented mission impossible 3 at the weekend, but i didnt get chance to watch all the extras ( 1 night rental).... is there anyway you can copy files from the BD disc to the hard drive?
    also, how can you put things ( like photos, mp3's) into folders?

    ta.
     
  2. almightygoodgod

    almightygoodgod
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +419
    I wouldn't have thought you could copy BDs. to copy files (mp3s, pics etc) put them onto a USB stic, memory card or writable cd/dvd and just pop it into the PS3. You may have to press the triangle button to view all of the files when you have selected the media device.
     
  3. Moogle

    Moogle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    13,751
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,398
    It's not possible to copy content from blu-ray movies to any other storage device or media.
     
  4. cracker

    cracker
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,055
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +246

    Not on the PS3 at least :smashin:
     
  5. oasisnut

    oasisnut
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,330
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +27
    so, for movies, mp3 and pics etc..... if i put them in folders on my PC can i copy them across with folders intact onto the ps3?
    is there anyway you can make folders on the ps3?
     
  6. almightygoodgod

    almightygoodgod
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +419
    don't think you can make folders on the ps3, perhaps in the future as part of an update?
     
  7. oasisnut

    oasisnut
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,330
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +27
    so if i make the folders on PC then copy across the folders... they will stay inside the folders?
    i just dont want all my photos, movies all over the place
     
  8. Indiana Jones

    Indiana Jones
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    37,158
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +9,898
    As robfjonesuk said you cant have folders on the PS3, the files you copy across will just be listed vertically in their sections.
     
  9. J C4RTER

    J C4RTER
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    68
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi

    I did this the other day, I copied all the files from my SD Card and the PS3 automatically put them in folders corresponding to the date the photo was taken.

    I also created a Data DVD in Itunes copied this across and the PS3 automatically put them in folders for the specific album even taking over the album artwork. you can then press triangle and have it sorted buy artist genre etc. :thumbsup: Although a few of the albums came up as unknown and it shoved them all in the one folder.
     
  10. oasisnut

    oasisnut
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,330
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +27
    so, if i burn all my 'stuff' to disc in folders... will the ps3 not recognise anything on the disc...or will it just ignore the folders and let me grab the stuff inside them?:confused:
     
  11. Indiana Jones

    Indiana Jones
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    37,158
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +9,898
    No matter how you burn the data the PS3 will recognise it, whether it will keep the files in their folders isabit hit and miss, music should be sorted into albums with artwork but not sure on photos and videos.
     
  12. zeroprobe

    zeroprobe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    Messages:
    151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    You can copy bluray discs from the ps3 but you will need a PC to decrypt the files. Only if you own the disc in question mind.
     
  13. almightygoodgod

    almightygoodgod
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +419
  14. Miyazaki

    Miyazaki
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    Messages:
    14,393
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +850
    There are loads of BD to wmv files floating around the internet
     
  15. oasisnut

    oasisnut
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,330
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +27
    what about games then.... can you copy ps3 games onto the ps3?
     
  16. dodger747

    dodger747
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,976
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +209
    There are loads of direct blu-ray rips also...:smashin:

    It can probably be done using Linux and ripping it that way, but there is no way it can be done using the XMB.:)
     
  17. Indiana Jones

    Indiana Jones
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    37,158
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +9,898
    No you cannot, probaley because it would break the law.
     
  18. Tony Hoyle

    Tony Hoyle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Messages:
    3,347
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Stockport
    Ratings:
    +231
    So does copying CDs but the XMB allows that.

    I can imagine some games allowing copying to hard disk to improve loading times.. none do at the moment AFAIK.
     
  19. Workshed

    Workshed
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,653
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Radstock, Bath
    Ratings:
    +146
    It's possible to install a chunk of Ridge Racer to improve loading times but you still need to insert the disc in order to play the game.
     
  20. oasisnut

    oasisnut
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,330
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +27
    thanks for the replies guys!:thumbsup:
     

Share This Page

Loading...