cooling space between crossfire cards

Discussion in 'PC Gaming & Rigs' started by big rd, Feb 25, 2013.

  1. big rd

    big rd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    386
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +27
    i am thinking of getting two sapphire 7970 ghz vapor x cards for crossfire.
    they will fit ok but as they are a two and half slot card i will only have about 15 millimeter gap between the two cards.
    i have a 200 millimeter fan on the side off the case blowing straight on to the cards.the case is a xigmatek elsyium and has pretty good cooling.
    is a 15 mill gap ok or should i rethink.
    i will post some pics when done.
     
  2. Chox1988

    Chox1988
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Messages:
    16,793
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +9,161
    They'll run a lot warmer with two of them, I wouldnt be surprised if they get close to or hit 90 under total load, the big side fan will massively help, i wouldnt hesitate to get two of them if you want them.

    Have you got one of the cards already? If not just get standard 2 slot 7970's and over clock them yourself, bigger gap that way, and you'll save money.

    Or if you have one already get a 2 slot 7970 and oc it to the same or close level, as the xfire runs at the speed of the slower card, that way you'll have a bigger gap
     
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2013
  3. Four quid mate

    Four quid mate

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Messages:
    914
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Hereford, UK
    Ratings:
    +147
    Chox is correct, I've got 2 Ghz 7970's and under full load they'll go over 90 on total load, and I've got around 7 case fans.

    There's not really alot you can do about the space issue to be honest, there's no work around it unless you bought a new mobo with 4x 16x slots. Heat and noise comes with duel cards, little you can do unless you watercooled.
     
  4. big rd

    big rd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    386
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +27
    thanks for replying. ive not got them yet.
    what standard 7970 would you recommend over the sapphire i was going for it for the looks and performance
     
  5. majnu

    majnu
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    15,087
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +3,534
    90! I'd be throwing a fit at that temp. :eek: Aren't the WF's a 2 slotter?
     
  6. Chox1988

    Chox1988
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Messages:
    16,793
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +9,161
    I'd get the windforce and oc it yourself, or get the windforce ghz if you wanna spend more, the extra gap between them will be most welcome, and its an excellent card performance wise.

    I'd be close to having a hissy at 90 as well, but cards can run that high without any problem and with 2 cards under air, under 100 percent load, thats not uncommon. Although that side fan will be a bit of a god send if youre xfiring for temps.
     
  7. big rd

    big rd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    386
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +27
    it sounds like i could use the pc to strip paint if i go ahead with the sapphires .
    a total rethink is in order.
    i had better just add that i use a 27 inch monitor with 2 6970s one of which is going to be used in another pc now.
    i do like to have the highest settings when playing a game so what do you gus think my best options are.
     
  8. TheNameIsJambo

    TheNameIsJambo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    6,141
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Fife
    Ratings:
    +1,696
    You have two multi-GPU card and a single-GPU card options here - GTX690, HD7990 or The Titan.

    Since you're coming from an XFire setup, you must be fairly happy with it (or aren't affected by any issues related to XFire).
     
  9. Four quid mate

    Four quid mate

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Messages:
    914
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Hereford, UK
    Ratings:
    +147
    Personally I wouldn't get Sapphires, their warranty is terrible. If anything goes wrong with the cards you're looking at a months minimum to get it fixed or a replacement as you'll have to send it to China. That's after you actually get the to accept the RMA first, and that will slow down the process.

    90 is a high temp, it only happens when both cards are using above about 99% usage and a game is really pushing them. Crysis 3 is the newest suspect, but in most other games the temps stay around 75 degrees or lower.
     
  10. big rd

    big rd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    386
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +27
    your right jambo i dont think ive ever had a problem with crossfire in the past.
    not keen on titan. i think choxes idea is the way i am thinking. or what about two 680s
     
  11. Chox1988

    Chox1988
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Messages:
    16,793
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +9,161
    Two 680s are a good shout, or a 690, temps would be excellent on a 690.

    Less vram that way remember, assuming thats something youre ok with.

    Ive not seen any of the 7990's but that could be a good option if theres decent ones out there.

    I agree i wouldnt touch the sapphires, their warranty is dire, didnt even think about that before, gigabyte, evga and msi are the best options card wise from pretty much every pov.

    Nvidia or amd is a bit more of a personal choice at this price point, for what its worth i'd probably go for dual 680's, if feeling rich the 4gb versions.
     
  12. big rd

    big rd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    386
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +27
    ive just been looking at the 4 gig 480s maybe get one now and another later ime of to bed now .
    i will have a good look tommoro and get back to you all.
    thank for your time guys.
     
  13. TheNameIsJambo

    TheNameIsJambo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    6,141
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Fife
    Ratings:
    +1,696
    I think you mean a 680 ;)

    It's up to you, and how much money you would want to spend :thumbsup:
     
  14. big rd

    big rd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    386
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +27
    hi all
    your right jambo 680 and thats what i went for an evga 680 4 gig ftw. i decided to go for one card for now and see how i get on. i hope to have it up and running by friday so i will report back .
     
  15. TheNameIsJambo

    TheNameIsJambo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    6,141
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Fife
    Ratings:
    +1,696
    Good luck and God speed!

    Enjoy your 680 mate :) It has plenty of VRAM for a heavily modded Skyrim, you need to get involved! :)
     
  16. Oggie

    Oggie
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    7,071
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +619
    Good card mate, got one of those and very happy with it !
     
  17. eiren

    eiren
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    11,242
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,796
    Need a longer SLI bridge so I can space my cards out.

    Anyone find a 120mm SLI bridge for sale in the UK?
     
  18. bladedripper

    bladedripper
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    5,071
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +1,527
  19. Foster

    Foster
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    15,980
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    West Yorks
    Ratings:
    +7,174
  20. eiren

    eiren
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    11,242
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,796
    Cheers. For some reason could only find non UK places selling them. Surprised no large retailers stock them.
     

Share This Page

Loading...