Cooling for a complete beginner!

Discussion in 'Computer Components' started by MaturityDodger, Aug 14, 2012.

1. MaturityDodger

MaturityDodger

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +604
    Hi,
    I have a problem with my hi-fi and AV components overheating in the rack. So although it's not actually to be used in a PC, I thought that you computer guys might be the best people to ask for a solution.

I'm looking for a cheap and silent cooling solution. I have an AVR on top of a stereo amp (not ideal to stack I know, but I have no choice). Recently the AVR has been cutting out, and I think that it could be overheating, not being helped that the room is so warm because of the weather.
    There's a couple of inches clearance between the AVR and the shelf above, but about 10-15 cm of amp sticks out at the back, so no shelf above that.
    The vents for both amps are at the top and bottom, nothing on the sides.

Solutions I have thought of are:
    A few small-diameter fans blowing across the top of the AVR, or across the gap between the amps.
    A larger fan or two (but pretty slimline) blowing upwards, either on top of the AVR (so sucking through), or between the two amps (sucking through the stereo amp and blowing up through the AVR).

I have no experience in building a PC. With computer fans, is it possible to attach them without screws or anything? How are they powered and controlled? Anything else I should know about? Which of my configurations sound sensible?

I don't think I really need temperature control. I have one of those fancy plugs where it detects one device being switched on (my AVR) and then supplies power to other sockets. So I could just stick it on that so it comes on whenever the AVR is on. As long as it really is pretty silent.

Thanks.

Last edited: Aug 14, 2012
  2. EndlessWaves

EndlessWaves
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,492