1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cool Radeon Overclock

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by CENSORED, Jun 15, 2003.

  1. CENSORED

    CENSORED
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hope this helps Sapphire 9700np users squeeze a bit more horsepower out of their cards, worked for me anyway.

    Firstly, my card has Samsung 2.8 memory so I can't vouch for any other types. I flashed the card with Mufu's excellent 97P bios and got the stock 9700Pro frequencies working superbly. That was all I originally intended to do but I just had to see how far I could clock the card if just for my own peace of mind. I installed the Rage3D tweaker and managed to get 340/320 before 3DMark 2003 started to play up. Ordinarily I'd have been happy with this but I know that others were getting better clocks so I loaded up the Omega hacked drivers (Cat 3.4 based) and found I could hit the previous limit without a problem. Experiments recommenced.

    I got GPU to 369 and mem to 340 before the blue dots started to appear, you had to look real hard and they were very intermittent but they were definitely there. So I wound back to 360 as a reasonable margin and started on the mem setting. Frankly, I chickened out at 352, there weren't any problems but it didn't seem right that I was looking at GPU/mem parity with the distinctly odd proposition that the mem clock could go higher than the GPU! Others may know different but it just didn't seem right to me.

    So, the way it stands at the moment I've settled on 360/345 and I've hit 5555 on 3DMark 2003 at 1024/768 32 bit 75Hz. Not bad considering I started out with a stock 3DMark of 4221, then hit 5098 with Mufu's bios, finally arriving at 5555. Thats a 1334 point increase over the stock 9700 settings, in other words a 32% increase over stock!!!

    I'm not a big believer in chasing the biggest 3dMark score for the sake of it but I was curious and the figures speak for themselves. Unreal 2 at 1600x1200, 32 bit and ALL effects ON is very nice indeed thank you very much.

    If you're interested my kit is A7N8X deluxe with 1004 bios, 2 x 512mb of OCZ DDR (3500) in dual channel mode, Barton 2800 at 180 fsb and stock multiplier, WACC water cooling rig running 32 degrees idle and 38 degrees under load.
     
  2. Daneel

    Daneel
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,820
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +26
    My 9500 Pro can do 356/325 with no artifacts :)

    Not bad for £140.

    I flashed mine with a 9700 Pro BIOS so I could OC, the 9500 Pros are clock locked. I couldn't get a hold of a 9500 NP with L-shape RAM unfortunately.
     
  3. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +256
    I run my 9500 pro at 230/275 with no problems, I would try to underclock it further but powerstrip won't go any lower. ;)
     
  4. Mr.D

    Mr.D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    11,041
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,113
    I've been thinking about getting a new graphics card.
    Is it quite reliable to reflash a 9700 into a pro? Are there any disadvantages?

    Also I'm not quite sure I believe it but can you flash the even cheaper 9500 into a 9700pro?
    should I just plump for the 9800?
     
  5. CENSORED

    CENSORED
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The 9500 guys will know better than me but I believe there is a certain amount of pot luck with a stock 9500, mainly to do with unlocking the four redundant pipelines. It appears that a lot of 9500's were rejected 9700's with either damaged pipelines or memory issues. Nonetheless, if you get a 'good 'un' a 9500 will indeed run at 9700 pro settings and a touch beyond.

    As far as reflasing a 9700 goes the issue is the memory. Sapphire 9700's with Samsung memory and possibly one or two others will take the Pro bios and then some, I can vouch for that personally. I paid £185 for my card about 3 months back which was about £100 cheaper than a Pro, given that my card is now clocked higher than a Pro the cost effectiveness of such a move is fairly obvious.

    Mufu is your man, he is the oracle as far as I am concerned and knows the subject of reflasing the Sapphire 9700 inside out.
     
  6. Mr.D

    Mr.D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    11,041
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,113
    Excellent I totally dig the idea of a 9700pro for 9700 prices.
     

Share This Page

Loading...