Cool/quieten my pc

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by darren_eaf, Jan 2, 2007.

  1. darren_eaf

    darren_eaf
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Messages:
    559
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +30
    Hi guys,

    I'm wanting to make my computer run quieter and cooler for as cheap as I can.

    My computer spec is here

    I've been looking at adding something like this

    Can anyone think of anything else that would be worth changing, power supply, other fans etc.

    Thanks :thumbsup:
     
  2. evo6

    evo6
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2006
    Messages:
    161
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +13
    I dont know the size of your case, so I'm not sure what will fit. I had the artic cooler a while ago, but ended up going to the Scythe Mine. Far better cooling, even when I do some serious overclocking. Both are very quiet coolers.
     
  3. DLPMaybe

    DLPMaybe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    945
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +54
    Open the PC and stop each fan in turn with your finger. Identify the loudest and replace it. Repeat this until you are happy with the sound level.
     
  4. badbob

    badbob
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Messages:
    4,591
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +318
    Only stall the fan for a couple of seconds.
    What appears to be the loudest component?

    CPU fan
    Motherboard chipset fan
    PSU fan
    Videocard fan
    Hard drive
    Case fans
     
  5. darren_eaf

    darren_eaf
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Messages:
    559
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +30
    I haven't looked into that yet.

    I'm just guessing that the cpu fan is the nosiest?

    I just know that when I first switch it on, it sounds like a jet engine, and does every 20 minutes or so.

    Seeing as it's only every now and then, this would rule out the harddrive?

    Thanks for evryones replies so far, but keep them coming :thumbsup:
     
  6. stainlessstan

    stainlessstan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    98
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +10
    You could be right but check that it isn't your DVD/CD drive that is spinning up, especially if you have a tendency to leave discs in. These can be very noisy.
     
  7. Ruperts slippers

    Ruperts slippers
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    8,233
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Earth
    Ratings:
    +4,233
    Its probably your video card ,but it then again it could be one of your media drives.
     
  8. darren_eaf

    darren_eaf
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Messages:
    559
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +30
    Do you think getting one of these would help?
     
  9. Ruperts slippers

    Ruperts slippers
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    8,233
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Earth
    Ratings:
    +4,233
    Just do the finger test or use a pencil ,poke it in the fans and see which is the loudest ,i found the graphics card to be the loudest .I replaced my case fans with some acoustifans ,and the cpu cooler with an evo cooler ,but the graphics card is still whirring away.
     
  10. badbob

    badbob
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Messages:
    4,591
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +318
    You need to find out what's making the most noise. Do that before changing cooling, because if you don't replace the loudest (ie chipset fan at 6000rpm) replacing a fan that's quieter (ie cpu) won't make much difference. Quiten the loudest and the system noise will be considerbly lower in noise.
     
  11. MarkSS

    MarkSS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    423
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +30
    Quite likely to be the Northbridge fan. Its certainly the noisiest left in mine and exhibits similar behaviour, screaming at startup, settling down to a background hum but occasionally whirring up again.

    http://www.quietpc.com/gb-en-gbp/products/northbridgecooling

    I bought one of the heatsinks above when I built the PC but couldn't use it as the two terratec DVB-T tuners I put in extend over the chip. Considering adding the Thermalright HR-05-SLI listed at the top of that page as it should avoid the cards.
     
  12. Oldalez

    Oldalez
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Messages:
    96
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    With your GPU you should be able to get away with a passive cooling solution - one of the Zalman products perhaps

    Having recently installed a Scythe Ninja in a PC I can certainly recommend them

    Have to agree with previous poster though - unless you target the components making the most noise it will all be for nothing.....

    I used a Reserator 1 on my previous PC - awesome piece of kit, but was cooling a Prescot 3.2 CPU and 9700 GPU with it so couldn't overclock in the summer months :(. Made for an extremely quiet system though and relied upon the PSU fan for exhaust and one intake fan at the front
     
  13. darren_eaf

    darren_eaf
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Messages:
    559
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +30
    OK, I've done the "finger test"

    The fan that makes the most noise during startup/every 20 mins is the one on the processor. The fan that is currently on it is this one.

    The fan that is the most noisy the rest of the time is the one on the graphics card.

    There are no other fans in the case other than those two and the one in the power supply.

    There is mesh output on the side of the case for ventilation, as seen in the pic attached.

    The circular mesh section is where the fan from the processor exhausts, using a funnel type piece of plastic, again picture attached.

    With this now in mind, what do people recommend?
     

    Attached Files:

  14. peskywinnets

    peskywinnets
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,157
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +59
    Looking at that second pic, here's my prognosis....

    Removing the wastepaper basket from the top of your CPU might help somewhat (not with the noise, but from general scraps of junk falling into your 'puter where people miss the bin :D )
     
  15. Oldalez

    Oldalez
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Messages:
    96
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Looks tricky

    The lack of vents in the back of the case might cause heat build up if you swap out the CPU cooler for something else

    You might be able to fit a Sythe or similar and direct the fan towards the PSU but this could cause PSU overheat problems

    You might try cleaning the case/heatsinks/Fans etc - looks dusty - and maybe look to replace the CPU fan with a quieter similarly rated fan?

    As for the GPU a passive cooling option might be a possibility, or alternatively one of the quiet Zalman GPU fans?
     
  16. badbob

    badbob
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Messages:
    4,591
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +318
    How do you know a Ninja will fit his case? He hasen't given any info how wide his case interior is. I have one in a Stacker
     
  17. Oldalez

    Oldalez
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Messages:
    96
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    I don't - hence the word 'might' :)
     
  18. darren_eaf

    darren_eaf
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Messages:
    559
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +30
    It's a Micro ATX case, don't know if that helps.

    I've pinched some pics from one being sold on ebay, which I have attached.
     

    Attached Files:

  19. meansizzler

    meansizzler
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    7,892
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +343
    Get a New case with a rear 120MM fan, recently got an Antec NSK4400, even has a 430Watt power supply..., so recomend getting that...

    Then you have enough room for a decent CPU cooler..

    Add and Akasa Amber 80MM Fron fan, if you motherboard chipset has a fan on, I don't think Intel ones do, but replace it with a Zalman Passive Northbridge Cooler..

    Also get a Passive Graphics Card cooler or one with a Low Speed Fan..

    Case: £50
    80MM Fan: £6
    Northbridge Heatsink: £8
    CPU Cooler: £25-£40
    GPU Cooler £15-30
     
  20. darren_eaf

    darren_eaf
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Messages:
    559
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +30
    Where did you get your case from?

    I've found it with a 380W power supply, but not 430W.

    Cheers, and thanks for the help :thumbsup:
     
  21. Babylon

    Babylon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    108
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    http://www.sheppeyscum.com
    Ratings:
    +6
    You could try what I did which kind of killed 2 birds, I had the same problem of to many hard drives and to much heat and an underpowered power supply.
    Well I had another HTPC case that I upgraded from,So what I did was buy 4 SATA Dual Port Backplate Adaptors and put them in my New case and connect them to the SATA headers.

    [​IMG]

    I then put a plug on the back which connects to the power supply plug

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    I then put a plug on the buck of the old case and connected that to it's power supply,

    [​IMG]

    Next thing was to put my hard drives in the old case and and connect them to the other 2 SATA back panels and to the power supply,

    [​IMG]

    Then just connect the 2 cases together with SATA cables and the power on cable

    [​IMG]

    and Switch on, Now when you switch on the new case, the old one comes on as well, No one power supply is being pushed that hard so they stay cool and the temperature controlled fans stay at low speed, The hard drives have loads of room to breath and stay really cool and have bean able to disconnect a couple of fans, I have 2 IDE drives in the new case and 3 SATA drives in the old with a spare SATA connection for one more drive, could also put a cheap SATA card in the new case and have 2 or 4 more drives.
    I'll be fair as to say that I already had the spare case,power supply,the 2 plugs and the SATA cables so only had to buy the SATA back panels at £15, But it's just another idea.
     
  22. RockySpieler

    RockySpieler
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,661
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Snaking the Lineup
    Ratings:
    +115
    Babylon,

    Great idea, looks good in the Glass Rack.

    Please can you detail how/where the GRN/WHI wires for the second PSU works (clearly you do not want the SATA PSU to start/stop out of sync)?

    I could be interested in something similar, my Tsunami tower just would not look good on its side, in a AV rack. I suppose any dead DVD player would works as an enclosure, obviously dead desktop at local tip may be better, even their PSU would work.

    Do you boot off the single PATA drive in the first picture?
     
  23. NaTT

    NaTT
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Messages:
    1,123
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Abbots Langley
    Ratings:
    +77
    you can get those back plate adapters with a molex power adapater pass through in between 2 the SATA ports.
    Upshot for me is that I'm now adding Disks that power off the mian PCs power (it's passive and man enough) and I'm putting the HDDs in individual silent HDD cases, which I stack at the back of my rack.

    Just need to make sure I disconnect them before pulling the PC out:eek:

    Oh and before I'm asked, I don't know which purchase said adapter came with, I've not seen them else where
     
  24. darren_eaf

    darren_eaf
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Messages:
    559
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +30
    Thats probably going a bit excessive for what I want.

    I only have one hard drive and don't do much gaming. I just want it to be nice and quiet and cool.

    I'm looking at the Cooler Master Centurion 534 case to replace the one I have at the moment.
     
  25. meansizzler

    meansizzler
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    7,892
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +343
  26. Babylon

    Babylon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    108
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    http://www.sheppeyscum.com
    Ratings:
    +6
    There are 3 wires to use, The Green one, The Purple one and a Ground Black one, I just used the black wire nearest the edge next to the green Wire, Just run these 3 wires from your main case to the corresponding colours on the second power supply and bobs your uncle.
     

Share This Page

Loading...