1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Converting SCART to SVideo for Projector

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Seahorse, Apr 11, 2004.

  1. Seahorse

    Seahorse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    141
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Southampton, Hants
    Ratings:
    +3
    I'm currently using the RF out from the Sky to a ProV using anRF cable and the ProVs TV tuner. Unsurprisingly, DVDs look great and Sky looks pants.

    What is the most straight forward (preferably cheap) way of using the second SCART on the Sky Digibox to the currently free SVideo input on the Projector?
     
  2. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    12,752
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,906
  3. Seahorse

    Seahorse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    141
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Southampton, Hants
    Ratings:
    +3
    Nigel,

    TVM...:smashin:
     
  4. Gatekeeper

    Gatekeeper
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  5. Seahorse

    Seahorse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    141
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Southampton, Hants
    Ratings:
    +3
    Tanks Gatekeeper. I have bokmarked both pages. I now have the next 6 months to decide while I'm in Iraq...:censored:
     
  6. cyberheater

    cyberheater
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    Messages:
    3,186
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +170
  7. manksman

    manksman
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    Douglas Isle of Man
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi
    I got the scart to phono & svhs adapter with a scart straight thru
    so I could still connect my digibox to the tv.Problem is I get a picture thru the svhs but it's black & white,Iv'e tried switching from pal to rgb but it makes no difference.Anyone out there got any suggestions.Have been reading your posts and have found them very helpful

    cheers hope someone can give me guidance
     
  8. Suggy

    Suggy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the same problem. Both with my NTL cable box and my VCR.
     
  9. Gatekeeper

    Gatekeeper
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  10. ailean

    ailean
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Normally getting B&W on a SVideo connection means that you actually only have a Composite feed from that Scart connector. Certainly all the NTL boxes I've seen only have Composite and RGB on TV Scart and only Composite on VCR Scart.

    So to get SVideo output you need an active box which converts RGB -> SVideo.

    I use a JS RGB->Svideo box from http://www.js-technology.com
    which is a nice bit of kit. For best pj pq I'd go for the RGB->Component box they do but my primary need was a SVideo feed into my SVHS deck.
     
  11. manksman

    manksman
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    Douglas Isle of Man
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the input guys nice of you to help a poor lost soul.
    I read the manual for my pace digibox and it says it will output rgb and svhs i'm a little confused.I have looked at a js converter they are quite pricey, whats the quality of the pic like when using a digibox thru it to connect to a pj, is it worth the dosh.
     
  12. stevelup

    stevelup
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    6,114
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +836
    Hi

    What projector do you have?

    A lot of projectors will accept 15Khz interlaced RGB on their VGA sockets.


    Steve
     
  13. manksman

    manksman
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    Douglas Isle of Man
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Steve
    Thanks for your interest, I've just got a sony hs20 and the pic with dvd's is brill I'm really chuffed with it but I want to connect my digibox to it before I start mounting it on the ceiling.

    Cheers

    Alan
     
  14. Gatekeeper

    Gatekeeper
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi manksman
    i use the maplin convertor with my projector and iam happy with the picture and price :)
     
  15. manksman

    manksman
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    Douglas Isle of Man
    Ratings:
    +0
    cheers gatekeeper
    will have a look at Maplins, wonder if rgb to component would be better pq wise
     
  16. ailean

    ailean
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Manksman, you may need to active SVideo output on your box via the menus, on some devices you can output either RGB *or* SVideo on one Scart but not both (they share some pins).

    The HS20 maybe able to take RGB but I think it's only on the Multi connector which at least the PC RGB cable is ~£90 so another solution maybe cheaper.

    I find SVideo is good enough for most stuff as the PQ of a lot of transmitted stuff is not that good when put on a 100" screen. Only films in 16:9 anamorphic really shine and may be even better with Component/RGB direct.

    So if your box can do SVideo I'd go with that to start and see how it goes, just check out the manual/menus for an activation option. What model do you have? Someone here may know for sure.
     
  17. Gatekeeper

    Gatekeeper
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi manksman
    i tried the componet and VGA convertor , from the ntl digi box to pj but did not work for me. so ive set the output for the ntl box to RGB and use the s.video convertor into my denon amp then out to the t.v. and pj. the convertor also works from my PVR8000t freeview recorder. iam happy with the pq and for only £40 plus a good scart and s.video lead
    cheers
     
  18. manksman

    manksman
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    Douglas Isle of Man
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cheers Guys
    I will have a look at Maplins .I just want the best pq I can get.
    The Digibox I have is a Pace sky decoder,It says in the manual it does svhs but theres no sign of it in the services menu
     

Share This Page

Loading...