Question Converting Multiple folders containing .m4a to .mp3 - retaining folder structure on output ?

Discussion in 'Music & Music Streaming Services' started by shotokan101, Feb 7, 2018.

  1. shotokan101

    shotokan101
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    75,276
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +25,373
    Hi I've ripped lots of albums as .m4a (lossless) to archive but also want HQ .mp3 versions as lots of my audio devices won't play .m4a directly.

    I've downloaded a couple of free converters that do the conversion well enough and will handle all the folders in a batch mode but haven't found any that will effectively replicate the input folder/album structure for the .mp3 output files :(

    Anyone got any suggested convertors that will handle this for me - either Free or Paid considered :)

    Thanks

    Jim
     
  2. wongataa

    wongataa
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,583
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +538
    Mediamonkey probably can. Might need to pay for that option to be available.
     
  3. shotokan101

    shotokan101
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    75,276
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +25,373
    Thanks - I do use MediaMonkey for MP3 Ripping (Free Version + sourced Lame DLL) - will have a look tonight :)

    JIm
     
  4. RBZ5416

    RBZ5416
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    18,956
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +7,169
    Foobar2000 should do it. You can set the output file structure as you wish & can copy tags, artwork & replaygain. This mine which gives me Artist\Album\Track No. [space] Title. You need Lame to encode MP3, easiest done by installing the encoder pack.

    upload_2018-2-8_17-39-8.png
     
  5. shotokan101

    shotokan101
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    75,276
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +25,373
    Wow! can't believe I've not come across this one before now - looks very powerfull :cool:
     
  6. the fife flyer

    the fife flyer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    309
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    here and there
    Ratings:
    +96
  7. shotokan101

    shotokan101
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    75,276
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +25,373
    Thanks - will have a look at the features - one thing I've found so far with the free options mentioned is that you see m to have to purchase an external decoder plugin to handle AAC and Lossless AAC :(
     
  8. RBZ5416

    RBZ5416
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    18,956
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +7,169
    Foobar2000's codec pack is free & only required for (re)encoding.
     
  9. shotokan101

    shotokan101
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    75,276
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +25,373
    Thanks - I did look at that

    What is this?
    This pack includes every natively supported free encoder binary for use with the Converter foobar2000 component. The binaries are conveniently installed into a subfolder of the foobar2000 installation folder.
    Current versions of foobar2000 will automatically recognize these encoders and no longer ask you for encoder binary location.
    Included encoders:
    • FLAC
    • Ogg Vorbis
    • Opus
    • Musepack
    • WavPack
    • AAC + Apple Lossless (qaac) - requires iTunes to be installed (read more...)
    • AAC (fhgaacenc) - requires Winamp to be installed (read more...)
    • Apple Lossless (refalac)
    • MP3 (LAME)
    Please note that this pack includes only encoders that we are legally allowed to distribute; that excludes AAC encoders (included AAC encoders require external applications providing actual encoding functionality).

    But was somewhat confused about what the requirement for iTunes "actually meant" especially given that the Lossless AAC is mentioned twice and one doesn't :)
     
  10. RBZ5416

    RBZ5416
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    18,956
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +7,169
    Not entirely sure to be honest but as I said, only required for (re)encoding, ie ripping/converting to Apple formats. You said your files were already in Apple format & you wanted to convert to MP3.
     
  11. shotokan101

    shotokan101
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    75,276
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +25,373
    Yes that's right - just thought the same decoder was required for transcoding (?) from .m4a to read the input format as used to encode originally and then the LAME encoder for the output ?
     
  12. RBZ5416

    RBZ5416
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    18,956
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +7,169
    Nope. I've just downloaded a test .m4a & it both plays & encodes to MP3 in Foobar200 just fine. I don't have iTunes installed.
     
  13. shotokan101

    shotokan101
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    75,276
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +25,373
    Thanks for confirming that - will give it a try :cool:

    ...presumably it won't rip to .m4a though then without iTunes - will try both later when we get back from Cinema :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice