Convert Media for an archos ?

Discussion in 'Portable Disc & Media Players & Recorders' started by monkeyleader, Jul 25, 2004.

  1. monkeyleader

    monkeyleader
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2002
    Messages:
    2,620
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    Ratings:
    +90
    Hi,

    I recently bought myself an archos (av380) and have been playing about with some of the features. About 4 months ago I started to rip my (owned) DVDs so I could play these from a harddisk, rather than put any wear and tear on the disks. I've now discovered that the format these were ripped in (using HGRip and the xVID codec isnt playable on the archos ! Anyone got any tips on what format the media needs to be in and what software could do this ?

    Nigel
     
  2. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,240
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Warwick
    Ratings:
    +2,282
    You'll need to convert them into a suitable format - the Archos supports .AVI format at a resolution of 640x368 at 25 fps. It also supports DivX 4.0 & 5.0. So you need to convert into one of those.

    You'll find all the ultilities you need here:
    http://www.digital-digest.com/dvd/downloads/showallcategory.php
    ...although you'll have to search around for the most suitable application.
     
  3. monkeyleader

    monkeyleader
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2002
    Messages:
    2,620
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    Ratings:
    +90
    Cheers for this - yup been looking around and indeed the archos comes with a utility (Virtual Dub and MP4GP4 Translator) This seems to do the video okay but does not work with the audio - meaning I get the picture, but no sound - thoughts ?

    Nigel
     
  4. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,240
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Warwick
    Ratings:
    +2,282
    Don't have any experience with the application you mention but the fact your getting no audio is probably because the programme doesn't support AC3 (Dolby Digital) which is the soundtrack on most DVD-Videos. There isn't much you can do about that other than get a programme that does.

    You could try an audio ripper to see if you can re-encode the audio but this will end up causing you alot of problems (lip sync issues, displaced audio etc etc). Nevertheless if you want to try look here for programmes:
    http://www.digital-digest.com/dvd/downloads/showcategory.php?cid=15

    I don't know how much time and effort you have already put into copying your collection but it may be worthwhile to start again, i.e. copy your disks to the HDD using a programme such as SmartRipper:
    http://www.riphelp.com/downloads/dvd.html#dvdripping
    ...and then importing into a programme that can do the conversion you want. You should be able to find one here:
    http://www.riphelp.com/downloads/dvd.html#dvdconversion
     
  5. monkeyleader

    monkeyleader
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2002
    Messages:
    2,620
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    Ratings:
    +90

Share This Page

Loading...