Conversion to allow 16:9 on google video. Anyone know how to do it?

F

funperro

When uploading my videos to google video that were recorded on my camcorder in 16:9 mode, they get converted to a squashed 4:3 aspect ratio that includes the black pillars on the right and left sides of the screen. When playing the movie clips on my computer, I always see the correct widescreen format displayed. I'd like to upload my 16:9 clips to google video and still retain their aspect ratio. Does anyone have any experience in doing this? I'm a bigtime noob when it comes to video conversion, so if you know of a method I'd appreciate it if you'd include the name of the software you'd suggest I should use... Thanks

A 16:9 clip uploaded and squashed to 4:3 by google:
http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=...107671756&hl=en

A 16:9 clip on google video showing that google video can accept 16:9 videos:
http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=-2376568701388728852

Thanks

redsox_mark

Distinguished Member
I've not used Google video myself, but below is their process:

Google Video recompresses all videos into 320x240 resolution Adobe Flash files with a bitrate of 450 Kbps to ensure reliable streaming from our servers. The download resolution is 480x360 at 800 Kbps. If you upload your video in any other aspect ratio, we will apply a letterbox format to your content to fit within the 4:3 frame. We suggest the specifications below for the best uality while keeping a reasonable file size:

- MPEG4 (mp3 or mp4 audio) at 2 mbps
- MPEG2 (mp3 or mp4 audio) at 5 mbps
- 30 frames per second
- 640x480 resolution
- 4:3 frame
- de-interlace

So, Google will attempt to convert this to 4:3 letterboxed. If they do that correctly it shouldn't look squashed, but they may not always correctly recognise the aspect. The safest thing is to do as suggested above - you yourself convert this to 4:3 frame (letterboxed) with the above resolution and square pixels.