Controlling sky+hd box in a closed cupboard

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by tylerdurden1234, Apr 23, 2016.

  1. tylerdurden1234

    tylerdurden1234
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    So I have a new wall mounted tv with closed cupboards containing the media bits.

    I want the control the sky box without having to open the cupboard.

    My understanding is that i need this

    Triax Compact Magic Eye: Amazon.co.uk: Electronics

    My question is whether that is all that is required? My reading suggests some cable will be required as well. I am not using this to control a second telly. Using it to control the main telly
     
  2. davemurgatroyd2

    davemurgatroyd2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Messages:
    8,578
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Oxford
    Ratings:
    +1,330
    It depends on the length of cable attaching the magic eye to its coax connector and distance to outside of cupboards - you may require coax extension to connect the connector to Sky box. Basically how long is a piece of string. Does your Sky box have RF2 output (latest boxes do not) if not you will require i/o adaptor as well.
     
  3. JayCee

    JayCee
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    22,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +2,423
    No, that's all you should need to control your Sky box...not the telly.
    You would only need an RF flylead if you were connecting your Sky box by RF to a Tv.
    Have you checked if your Sky+HD box has RF out sockets as the latest model doesn't and requires purchase of a Sky I/O link (small black box with an RF in/out which plugs into a socket on rear of Sky box).
     
  4. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,006
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,729
    A Sky machine needs a lot of ventilation.
    An alternative is a pair of wireless extenders.
     
  5. tylerdurden1234

    tylerdurden1234
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    The box has RF out.

    There is a rear opening so plenty of ventilation

    The cupboard is right next to the tv (just under it) so there is no issue as there is close proximity.


    Thanks Ja
     
  6. tylerdurden1234

    tylerdurden1234
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    OK, purchased this from amazon
    Triax Compact Magic Eye: Amazon.co.uk: Electronics

    How and what do I connect to the RF of the skybox.

    Apologies, I'm a real nooob with this stuff.

    One of these ends connect to the sky box but what adapter do I need?

    Ta
     

    Attached Files:

  7. tylerdurden1234

    tylerdurden1234
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
  8. JayCee

    JayCee
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    22,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +2,423
    Yes, that will work as long as you have room between the rear of the Sky box and the back of the cupboard as it will stick out from the RF out.
     
  9. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,006
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,729
    You seem to have got the wrong type of device. It should have a simple coaxial plug.
     
  10. JayCee

    JayCee
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    22,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +2,423
    No, I've seen that type with an F socket, they're pretty common, it should work okay.
     
  11. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,006
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,729
    It'll work fine, as would the type with one simple coaxial plug.:)
     
  12. tylerdurden1234

    tylerdurden1234
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    cheers, I went for this particular model as there was a web site recommending it for a v small magic eye rather than the standard fat baby.

    Thanks
     
  13. neilball

    neilball
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2,821
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Scottish Borders
    Ratings:
    +602
    These 'mini' eye units are available with an f-type or regular aerial connection. I prefer the f-type fitting as it is a more robust connection, so use these for everything except the final connection into the tv aerial socket.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice