1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Controlling Lighting with 12V Triggers?

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by Dimmy, Jan 9, 2004.

  1. Dimmy

    Dimmy
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    2,399
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +0
    I read that this can be done, using the 12V trigger to control lighting. My questions include:

    To what extent can you 'Control' the lighting with 12V Triggers? i.e. can you only turn the lighting on and off?

    I've found the amps with 12V Trigger outputs, what lighting controls do I need to get hold of, and how difficult is the wiring? (Can I do it myself or not?)?

    If there's anything else anybody thinks I need to know, I'll be most grateful if you'd fill me in :).

    TIA

    Dimmy :)
     
  2. u8myufo

    u8myufo
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well Dimmy I aint got a clue wot 12v triggers are, but if you want to control your lighting then you can get touch sensitive light switches from most diy stores, I bought and installed two sets last week, the remote comes with 8 buttons which are easily programmed, and it will dimm the lights as well all for £27.

    Hope this is of use to you.
     
  3. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    If you've only got 12v (active) and 0v (inactive), then you will only be bale to control 2 overall scenes/scenarios.

    What is it you are trying to acheive and what equipment do you currently have and are looking at? (Amps/receivers and lighting)

    We distribute Polaron lighting controls at work (amidst many other AV items), so I should be able to find someone with some ideas.
     
  4. Dimmy

    Dimmy
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    2,399
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +0
    ReTrO, basically, I want to keep the lighting on with all Audio sources and turn it off with all A/V sources.

    Or, better still, 'Dim' the lighting with all A/V Sources.

    I'm not sure if I can do this or not.

    The processor I'm looking at has two 12V Trigger outputs, which can be activated and de-activated according to which input's selected on the amp.
     
  5. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    You should be able to do it with some sort of interface.

    What sort of budget are you looking at?

    I could easily recommend some sort of Polaron kit, but I guess you're not looking at £1k ish + :D

    I'll ask our lighting guy tomorow at work.
     
  6. Dimmy

    Dimmy
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    2,399
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's certainately below £1k. I can't really set a budget as I don't have an idea of what I'll get for what money, but £1K does sound like one elaborate light-switch.

    If it's too much I'll just forget the idea and stick with a dimmer switch.
     
  7. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    Circa £1,500 would get you 8 channels of dimmed lighting and a 10 button control plate. :D

    Are you sure you don't want a few more rooms doing? ;)
     
  8. Dimmy

    Dimmy
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    2,399
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do I have to move out of my seat to control it? (how lazy am I?)

    And £1500 for a lightswitch... Christ!

    May have to slip that one a bit further down on my priorities list...
     
  9. hb1966

    hb1966
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Dimmy,
    I'm not 100% sure what your triggers are and if you have total control over them. But with a 12V signal you can turn a relay on/off which could then be used to turn a mains voltage on/off. This gives you the ability to turn a light on/off or any other mains powered equipment. Relays are the simplest device, if you want to go better, you can use semiconductors to turn the mains on/off.
     
  10. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    I had a word with our lighting man today, he can't think of anything that would be cheap and have a 12v control, with exception of a mains relay, as mentioned by hb1966 above.
    He's been working in lighting control for 20ish years now so can usually find something to fit.

    Sorry can't really help.
     
  11. Dimmy

    Dimmy
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    2,399
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'll get back to you when it comes to putting the finishing touches on my room then :D

    Thanks for the words people.
     
  12. Pottsy

    Pottsy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2003
    Messages:
    288
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Leicester
    Ratings:
    +6
    How about....

    Use macros on your Pronto. The Pronto can control lights and all kinds of stuff by using X-10 kit. See links.


    Lamp module

    IR reciever
     
  13. eviljohn2

    eviljohn2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Near London.
    Ratings:
    +208
    Or, if your amp has a switched 240V outlet your Denon does for example), you could just use it as a standard plug but switched by the amp.

    Not sure if the processor will have that feature though.
     
  14. HDPete

    HDPete
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    Messages:
    281
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Ringwood, Hampshire / Dorset Border
    Ratings:
    +14
    Try here: http://www.quasarelectronics.com/3084.htm

    My post found a relay for powering a 240v screen with a 12v trigger. £8 job done. (Under AV H/W, Projector Screens - Powering screens)

    Worth a look.

    Pete
     

Share This Page

Loading...