Control of Sky Box channels by DVD-R for timer recordings?

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by PeterC, Aug 30, 2005.

  1. PeterC

    PeterC
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    G’day all !
    We recently moved here from NZ and are really enjoying UK TV.
    Now I want to receive Freeview and record shows with a DVD Recorder.

    Unfortunately there is no terrestrial Freeview signal in our part of Suffolk.
    So I plan to buy a basic Sky Box and Sky’s 'Freeview' card.
    (We don’t wish to subscribe to Sky - sorry Rupert mate)

    Obviously there will be times when making multiple DVD-R recordings controlled by its timer, the channels on the Sky Box will need changing.

    I understand that a few DVD-Rs such as Toshiba RDXS34 can do this via an IR sender.

    1.
    Is anybody doing this with any other good (sub £400) DVD-R with HDD?

    2.
    Are there other ways of changing Sky Box channels when the system is unattended?

    All help appreciated.
    Thanks
    Peter
     
  2. ukdan

    ukdan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,124
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    swindon
    Ratings:
    +84
    you can get the sky box to automaticaly change channel of your choice at the required time.
     
  3. uk_jih

    uk_jih
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Messages:
    175
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Put a program on autoview and then the box will change channel automatically.

    If your DVD has RECLINK or SATLINK, then you will beable to get the sky box to tell the DVD to start recording and stop recording automatically.

    I used to do it with my video all the time before I got a Sky+.

    You just need to remember to switch off the sky box from the front panel and not the remote and this press the button on your DVD for the RECLINK (or whatever).
     
  4. PeterC

    PeterC
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you VERY much for these helpful replies.
    I have been so busy researching DVD-Rs that the capabilities of Sky Boxes got ignored. I had no idea they can switch channels when unattended. Duuuh..

    I’ll do some research, but any recommendations for an entry level Sky Box that will do this would be appreciated.

    Rgds, Peter
     
  5. PeterC

    PeterC
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    PS
    trap for young Sky players?
    As I won't have a Sky subscription - just a basic box & 20 quid 'Freeview' card -
    will the box be able to change channels unattended?
     
  6. uk_jih

    uk_jih
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Messages:
    175
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    All Sky digital boxes (excluding sky+) have this function.

    Sky+ boxes only allow you to set a reminder for a program, not to autoview because they expect you to use the record function of sky+.
     
  7. PeterC

    PeterC
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    So will the following set up work perfectly?

    ANY Sky digibox programmed to change channels at certain times.

    A DVD-R receiving the digibox output,
    programmed to record that output (whatever channel it may show)
    AT THE SAME TIMES

    And thus no need for the DVD-R to have "set-top box control"

    Thanks in advance
    Peter
     
  8. uk_jih

    uk_jih
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Messages:
    175
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Yep, but as I said before, if the box has Satlink then you won't need to program the DVD, just put it in the right mode and it will know to record when the sky box says to.
     
  9. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    12,815
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +5,025
    Need - no. But hugely more convenient. Halves the risk of you making a setting mistake. Even better if accompanied by GuidePlus(TM).
     
  10. PeterC

    PeterC
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Once again, thank you so much guys. Your help is much appreciated.
    Now all I have to do is spend the money!
     

Share This Page

Loading...