1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Contrast on a Viera

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by Steffche, Nov 15, 2004.

  1. Steffche

    Steffche
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was playing around with DVE last night, and ended up having contrast wound all the way down to 9/100. I used to have it at 30....then I dropped it down to 25 a few days ago...and still noticed it was too high at times....and now im down to 9. Does anyone else have such a low contrast setting?
     
  2. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,794
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,080
    Mine's around 25% - and I thought that was low :eek:
     
  3. Ekko Star

    Ekko Star
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Messages:
    6,613
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +468
    Does the Aus model have settings out of 100's ?

    The UK one does not, apart from a block indicator.
     
  4. Steffche

    Steffche
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yep...all settings are out of 100.

    How did you arrive at your contrast settings???
     
  5. Ekko Star

    Ekko Star
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Messages:
    6,613
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +468
    Uk ones are just a block bar.

    Have mine set to what appears to be about 35-40% on both contrast and brightness in Normal mode. Looks fine. ;)
     
  6. blindlemon

    blindlemon
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    If your underlying contrast is too high then you can adjust the "sub-contrast" in the Service menus to give you more leeway on the user-controls.

    Initially I found that I was having to set the contrast in Cinema mode at less than 10% for evening viewing, but that for some programmes even 0% wasn't low enough, so I reduced the sub-contrast by 20. Now my main menu contrast bar setting ranges between around 25% and 50% depending on the source material.
     
  7. NonPayingMember

    NonPayingMember
    Previously Liam @ Prog AV

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,523
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +830
    HAve you any contrast and brightness adjustments on your DVD player??? When set wrong these kill the output of your player before your plasma even has a chance to get the best setup. Worth a quick check anyway.
     
  8. Steffche

    Steffche
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    No...there are no picture settings on my DVD player. Its the pioneer dv-344. oNly has options for cinema, standard and animation.
     
  9. brackenlamb

    brackenlamb
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    421
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    how did you get into the service menu,
     
  10. happyh

    happyh
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    309
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Northants Riviera
    Ratings:
    +2
    blindlemon, brackenlamb et al.
    I know that I keep on but..........
    Get it calibrated! Since I had mine done I haven't needed to touch the settings regardless of source.
     
  11. NonPayingMember

    NonPayingMember
    Previously Liam @ Prog AV

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,523
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +830
    Steffe - those three modes will adjust contrast, colour and brightness so having it set on the wrong one could have an effect. Normal is likely the best but Cinema might be worth a try
     
  12. brackenlamb

    brackenlamb
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    421
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    i know i know maybe one day i will but im gona have a small go myself with an avia disc ,as im already happy with the picture.
    I fi spend any more this year im gona be in trouble :rolleyes:
     
  13. happyh

    happyh
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    309
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Northants Riviera
    Ratings:
    +2
    Yeh, it gets to be an expensive hobby.Still, when the cash settles down........

    The biggest adjustment I saw Gordon make I don't think you can do.(and I wouldn't try)
    Via the service menu he individually adjusted red, blue and green to the correct temperature. He measured them individually on various white settings from a test page using a piece of kit pushed against the screen and linked to his PC.
    Red and green were closeish, but blue was way out! I know it shouldn't be on a new screen from the factory, but it was.
    And the overscan was huge.

    I should be on commission, but I'm not. Just trying to help.
     

Share This Page

Loading...