Contemplating an HTPC build

Windeos

Established Member
Reaction score
I've got roughly £1500 to purchase a new computer system. I have read through the HTPC FAQ quite a few times and feel I need to get feedback before I move onto purchase materials.

I currently have a 50" full hd tv with Onkyo 607 receiver and q acoustic 5.1 set up so adding a HTPC should do the trick.

I'm thinking I could put together a HTPC rather than just a normal pc. I would be using it for watching Blu rays and playing games. I want it to be future proof so therefore am looking to build a top unit. I've never built a pc before but I feel confident in being around computers for years and my cousin has experience of putting together pc's and will be giving me a hand.

I'm looking for some help in regards the actually hardware I'm looking to purchase.

I've looked at quite a few builds and I'm basically copying Razor's machine without water cooling.

Case: Silverstone LC17 SilverStone SST-LC17B (Black) aluminium Front & SECC Body Desktop case (w/o PSU) - Scan.co.uk

Motherboard: Asus P6T Deluxe V2 Asus P6T Deluxe V2, Intel X58, SLi/Xfire, Sok 1366, PCI-E 2.0, DDR3 1066/1333/1600(OC), SATAII, ATX - Scan.co.uk

Processor: Intel Core i7 920 Intel Core i7 920 D0 Stepping (SLBEJ) 2.66Ghz (Nehalem) (Socket LGA1366) - Retail

Memory: OCZ Gold 6GB (3x2GB) DDR3 2000MHz OCZ Gold 6GB (3x2GB) DDR3 2000MHz PC3-16000C10 Low-Voltage Triple Channel (OCZ3G2000LV6GK)

Graphics: Radeon HD 4870 x2 SAPPHIRE TECHNOLOGY RADEON HD 4870 X2 - 2 GB GDDR5 - PCI-EXPRESS 2.0 review cheap prices RADEON HD 4870 X2 - 2 GB GDDR5 - PCI-EXPRESS 2.0 SAPPHIRE TECHNOLOGY best buy discount online uk shop

Sound Card: Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium 70SB088600000 - Creative Soundblaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Professional - Scan.co.uk

Power Supply: Corsair HX 620W Corsair HX 620W ATX2.2 Modular SLI Compliant Power Supply