Answered Consumer level video recorder with viewfinder?

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Making Forum' started by JungleExplorer, Aug 19, 2016.

1. JungleExplorer

JungleExplorer
    Novice Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all. Newbie here. Okay, I have to admit, I have been out of the video camera market for a good while. Not that I don't own video cameras and take video, but the last real video camera I bought was in the 1990s. A Sony 8mm Handycam. Now since then I have bought many P&S (Point and Shoot) cameras that can take video, and of course I have a smartphone that can take HD 1080P video. Last year I bought a knock off GoPro Sports Cam that takes amazing eye popping video. But all these video cameras lacked two things that my old Sony Handycam had. A viewfinder and a good optical zoom lens. Five years ago I bought a Pentax K-r DSLR to take pictures of my only daughter's wedding. Now the K-r does have a viewfinder and I have a 300mm lens for it, but here's the catch. The viewfinder cannot be used in video mode, it's lcd screen only. This is not a problem if I am shooting a still object, but if I am trying to film a bird in flight or something like that, it's unusable.

So here lately, I have been thinking about getting a video camera that has a viewfinder and also a zoomable lens. The problem is, I can't find anything in the consumer level market with those two things. I mean, I paid like $250 for my old Sony Hi8 HandyCam brand new in the store, and it was like the flagship Sony consumer level Handycam at the time.