Construction of a Basic "Grade 1" 32" LCD Picture Monitor

newcoppiceman

Established Member
Reaction score
I'm a retired BBC-trained engineer who worked in Television Centre, London studios in the 1980s and latterly for Channel 4. In my work I encountered so-called "Grade 1" picture monitors used in places like studio galleries; their job was to add nothing to, nor take anything away from, the signals they were fed with. They used professional high resolution CRTs (with the original delta gun arrangement and EBU phosphors), had lots of adjustments (for things like convergence and beam landing), and gave stunning pictures, especially when fed RGB from the studio cameras. These monitors weren't TVs - they had no tuners nor any provision for audio.

I'm currently researching the prospects for emulating such monitors using HD and LCD technologies and would welcome input from the distinguished contributors to the various LCD technology/panel threads or from anyone interested in what I'm attempting.

The basic specification of the monitor is currently:

1 LCD Panel: 32" / 16x9 / 1920 x 1080 native resolution / 50Hz refresh rate (not 60Hz) / 10 bit
2 Input (at all times): 1920 x 1080 progressive / 50Hz frame rate / HDMI or DVI-D dual link

The monitor would be paired with a Lumagen Radiance XE video processor. This unit sets the industry benchmark for switching, calibration and video processing performance and employs 10-bit processing, per-pixel SD and HD deinterlacing with adaptive diagonal filtering, "no-ring" scaling technology and assorted artifact/noise reduction techniques.

At its most basic the monitor would consist of:

1 The LCD panel - this includes a driver PCB which accepts the LVDS video together with various control and power signals
2 An interface board which would accept the 1920 x 1080 progressive at 50Hz input and provide the LVDS video for the panel
3 A control board connecting to the interface board