1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Console play on Plasma (time lenght)

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by KelvinHT, Jan 9, 2004.

  1. KelvinHT

    KelvinHT
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    330
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +13
    Getting a bit worried about this image burning issue.

    Currently I having a good chill out on my Xbox but as the game (PGR2) has quite a bit of static eliments in the screen (track, rev, Speedo score etc....)

    What is the maximum length of time I should use the Xbox on my Plasma (pioneer 434) ?
     
  2. funkin

    funkin
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2003
    Messages:
    41
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm personally not worried about PGR2 myself. I've played it for say no more than two hours at a time on my 434. As for the static parts of the game, at the end of the races you go back to the menu to select another difficulty etc. etc. so that will display a completely different screen. I'd say not to worry but i'm no plasma tv expert by any stretch.
     
  3. KelvinHT

    KelvinHT
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    330
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +13
    THX, mind settled a bit..
     
  4. gandley

    gandley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    5,102
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Paradise Lost
    Ratings:
    +269
    Only time to realy worry is if the gauges are white as this will burn quicker.
    best thing to do is after two hours stick a fast moving film in while you take a quick break. and then play on
     
  5. codlord

    codlord
    Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2002
    Messages:
    283
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Portsmouth, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    I've played games for hours and hours before with no problem - as someone else has said, most games even if they have static elements these are not on screen during "loading" or between levels etc.

    As long as your screen has been "run-in" (i.e. used for a hundred hours or so) and you are not running it with silly-bright contrast/brightness settings you should not have a problem - obvioiusly different plasmas will have different issues so just keep an eye on things as you use it to be sure.
     
  6. KelvinHT

    KelvinHT
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    330
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +13
    thanks guys fro your comments
     
  7. manc

    manc
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    Messages:
    151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Ratings:
    +0
    I play alot of pes3 and the static pitch radar at the bottom of the screen always leaves a residual image after a couple of hours play - It goes away after a few minutes of normal use tho.
     
  8. nealgs

    nealgs
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Played PGR2 on a m8s borrowed Xbox for about 3 hrs (went to bed 2pm saturday morning - Doh! ) on our 433MXE - no images remained as longest race was about 7 or 8mins before screen changes to a new menu etc.

    Also have to say that the standard composite picture from the Xbox via the AV reciever to the Plasma is very very impressive. No color bleed of image fuzzyness :) , god knows what component must look like with the hi-def kit:smashin:

    Ogbyte
     
  9. KelvinHT

    KelvinHT
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    330
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +13
    I have been getting about a 10-15 second video dropout. Does not happen all the time or after the same amout of time
     
  10. ziocleto

    ziocleto
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same here,
    played PES3 and PGR2 for DAYS ;)
    Nothing happened, I've got an 400E btw...
     
  11. KelvinHT

    KelvinHT
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    330
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +13
    Had a call from Pioneer, getting close for a Engineer visit
     
  12. Luc

    Luc
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2000
    Messages:
    420
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +2
    6 hour stints on Winning Eleven 7 aren't uncommon on my Panasonic 5 series, and i've never noticed anything. I do have the wobble on, and play with as few of the on screen options turned off though...
     

Share This Page

Loading...