1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Conponent On Pioneer Dv05 Elite

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by BIONIC MAN, Jun 27, 2002.

  1. BIONIC MAN

    BIONIC MAN
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
    Messages:
    941
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Nasa
    Ratings:
    +37
    HI TO ALL NEED SOME HELP PLEASE
    WHEN I TRY AND CONNECT MY PIONEER DV05 ELITE DVD PLAYER TO MY 32 TOSH TV VIA COMPONENT THE SCREEN HAS A GREEN TINGE TO IT ? ? WHY ,
    IS IT DUE TO THE FACT THE DV05 ELITE IS A NTSC MACHINE & THE
    TV IS PAL ( THE PLAYER IS MULTIREGION WITH SUDOPAL MOD )

    SO PLEASE IF ANYONE CAN HELP

    THANKS FOR ALL YOUR TIME

    :( :(
     
  2. Reiner

    Reiner
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    Messages:
    3,315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +13
    Does the TV actually support Component in or have you, accidently, connected it to some RGB input?

    PS: Please switch off your CAPS. Thanks.
     
  3. BIONIC MAN

    BIONIC MAN
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
    Messages:
    941
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Nasa
    Ratings:
    +37
    The TV is the Toshiba ZD3209D which has the component on the back of the TV , which the manual advise connect a dvd player

    Also sorry about the caps ,

    Thanks
     
  4. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +827
    The Caps Lock on your keyboard, capital letters is considered to be SHOUTING on the web!!:)
     
  5. BIONIC MAN

    BIONIC MAN
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
    Messages:
    941
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Nasa
    Ratings:
    +37
    All sorted on the caps now , Sorry to all but I'am new ,

    So any help with the problem with my set up

    :D
     
  6. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +827
    Does it pick up an NTSC signal ok? If it does then I assume its to do with the Pal mod thats causing the green tinge.
     
  7. BIONIC MAN

    BIONIC MAN
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
    Messages:
    941
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Nasa
    Ratings:
    +37
    I think the TV does not pick up a full ntsc signal ,
    thats why the player had the sudopal mod which Techtronics done ,

    I got the TV as it had the component just for my dvd player and it didn't work using it , so I have the s-video lead going into the front of the TV , Nightmare
     
  8. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +827
    Strange, most TVs nowadays can pick up an NTSC signal via S-Video, Scart etc

    Double check that the dvd player is switched to NTSC only, play a Region 1 disc and connect it via S-Video and then component and see what you get. If you get something via S-Video then in theory it should work for the component input as well.

    Cant suggest anything else except maybe a new TV or dvd player!!
     
  9. RichardA

    RichardA
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Bionic,

    The Component output will not be affected by PAL or NTSC or PAL60 - they all refer to colour encoding used for composite video and S-Video only.

    Pretty sure it has nothing to do with 50Hz or 60z, or R1 or R2 material if you can get it all running with S-Video.

    A green tinge on component usually indicates that a component signal is connected to an RGB input on the TV - is there a menu selection for RGB or Component for that input on the TV ? (it may well be a hidden or service menu)

    With this (Component going into an RGB input) you will get a green colour cast to everything and muddy browns.

    If it was the other way round (DVD player outputting RGB into a TV expecting Component) you would get a very Purple picture.

    It might be worth searching or posting in the TV section to see if anyone knows about any menu stuff - don't forget to specify which exact model Toshiba you have!

    Hope this helps.
     

Share This Page

Loading...