connectivity help/advice plz

itr786

Standard Member
I've just ordered a Panasonic th42px80b from John Lewis and as I'm a newbie not 100% sure on the best way to connect everything up.

MY SETUP:

Panasonic th42px80b,
Ps3,
Denon dht-500sd 5.1 surround sound,
Standard virgin box.

Could you good folks plz give me some advice and the best way to connect all these up to get the best quality vision/sound;

My current intension is as follows:

panni TO ps3 = hdmi lead?
panni TO denon = standard 21 pin Scart or component video cable (ADVICE!?)
panni TO virgin = standard 21 pin scart
denon TO PS3 = optical lead?

As i said earlier, I'm new to this game but would really like to make sure i get the best out of the set-up i have. Any advice would be most appreciated.

kind regards,
al

davepuma

Distinguished Member
Hi,

Is the Denon system region free modified? If not, I wouldn't bother connecting it to the TV, the PS3 is a more than capable DVD player, so you could get away with using the Denon for audio only unless you don't like using the PS3 for DVD? If you do connect it, there isn't much difference between component video (ypbpr) and RGB SCART. It's a case of try both and see which you prefer. Component in theory should be better.

Therefore I would connect the PS3 to the TV via HDMI and to the Denon via optical. The virgin box would connect to the TV via SCART (set to RGB) and then run an audio cable from the TV (probably optical but possibly analogue red/white phono) to the Denon. This would give you pseudo surround sound e.g. Dolby Pro Logic from both the cable box and the TV's built in freeview tuner. You could also connect an audio cable from the cable box to the Denon separately. Try it and see if you prefer it, there might be no difference but you never know.

Enjoy your new TV :thumbsup:

itr786

Standard Member