connections

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by luckystrike, Aug 30, 2007.

1. luckystrike

luckystrike
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2
    Guys please need your help im a noob in my tv connection how can i connect the following?

TV = SONY40D3000
    DVD = SAMSUNG 1080P UPSCALING DVD
    SOUND SYSTEM = SONY SF1100
    TV PROGRAM = SKY
    GAME CONSOLE = XBOX360

The only thing i know is hdmi my dvd to tv i dont know how to properly connect the others:lease:

2. madhouse

madhouse

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Bawtry nr. Doncaster / Wiesbaden (Germany)
    Ratings:
    +72
    hiya,

right then - to get you going:

As you already said - hdmi cable from dvd player to tv.

If you do this you'll still need to add a cable form the player to your sound system to transmit the sound - either via optical or rca digital out.

What you could also think about doing: Get another hdmi cable - then:

hdmi from player to sound system - then a hdmi cable from sound system to TV.
    This passes video signal through to the TV and the sound to the surround system with 1 cable from the player instead of two.

For the rest: Sky via scart to the TV and connect an audio cable from the 2 RCA audio outputs from the Sky box to the surround system - you can then just have sound on the TV without the amp needing to be on - and when you do want to feed th esound through the surround system, you can.

XBOX 360 - you should be able to use a so called YUV cable (red, green & blue - possibly already part of your kit?) directly to the TV for the picture - and you then need another cable to the surround system for the sound - I don't know offhand if the 360 has an optical out on the adapter or an RCA output.

Hope this helps. I'l check back latr as I am trying to download the manuals for your components (telly and surround sound).

Cheers,

Simon

3. luckystrike

luckystrike
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted: