1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Connections: PS2 to Pio MXE

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by Epoman, Dec 22, 2003.

  1. Epoman

    Epoman
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2002
    Messages:
    3,039
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    On my PC
    Ratings:
    +88
    I'm having a bit of a thick moment.

    Is it possible to connect my Sony PS2 to my Pioneer 433 MXE plasma? I just can't see how it should be done. The PS2 lead has a scart, so how does it connect to the plasma?

    The plasma has the following connections:
    mini D-sub
    BNC jack's - used by my DVD for component
    DVI-D - used by my PC
    S-video - used by my amp for on screen display
    RCA's - for sound presumably?
    BNC jack - this apparently takes a composite video output jack.

    Do I need to connect via the spare bnc jack? If so how?
     
  2. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    23,758
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,463
    Epoman

    If you want a decent image purchase a PS2 Component video cable and connect to the Plasma via your AVR-3802.

    You'll need to rewire your DVD via the AVR-3802 also - it may be worth testing you are happy with this before you do it permanently; though I must say I find the video circuitry on the AVR-3802 is pretty clean.

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  3. Epoman

    Epoman
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2002
    Messages:
    3,039
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    On my PC
    Ratings:
    +88
    Hi Joe

    I don't have a spare set of component inputs. The amp has 2 sets of component - one will be used by the DVD and the other by my JS Tech YUV2RGB box for Sky.

    Any other way of connect ing the PS2?
     
  4. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    23,758
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,463
    Hello Epoman

    You could always wait until mid Jan 04 when we have our first shipment of the Zektor YUV switches :)

    Or we can supply you with an HD15 to 3RCA (F) cable to jumper the outputs from the PS2 Component cable into the HD15 input on the MXE which will accept YUV as long as the PDA-5002 card is installed - assuming you dont use the HD15 for a PC that is.

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  5. nealgs

    nealgs
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    has your sky box got two SCART sockets?? you might be able to daisy chain your PS2 to the SKY box, which then feeds the RGB2YUV box

    E.G

    PS2->SKY->RGB2YUV->AMP->Panel


    We also have the MXE, and hope to be getting an XBox shortly, so may have a similar connection problem (although do have one set of components ins left on AV reciever


    Link to review of Zektor unit that Joe's on about

    http://gear.ign.com/articles/452/452131p1.html?fromint=1

    regards
    Gary
     
  6. daveb975

    daveb975
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    3,812
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +239
    I was planning to connect my PS2 by S-Video. I have not tried it yet - will the image quality be acceptable?
     
  7. Epoman

    Epoman
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2002
    Messages:
    3,039
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    On my PC
    Ratings:
    +88
    THanks for the tips guys. I've had a few more problems so I've started a new thread.
     

Share This Page

Loading...