Connections for a VW11HT

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by ds_kerr, Apr 29, 2002.

1. ds_kerr

ds_kerr
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

I am considering buying this pj and am currently sitting down and trying to work out how I can connect my home theatre together.

I have a Sony 535 DVD player, NTL Digital box and a PS2.

The distance of cable from my equipment to the PJ will be long (~12 metres) so I want to minimise the number of cables that need to run to the PJ.

I was hoping that I could have one high quality cable running to the PJ that would be connected to a 'switch box' that would allow me to switch the signal being sent to the PJ. Does such a device exist? Does it reduce picture quality?

I am guessing that the best quality picture will come from a component cable into the PJ.

I am a relative newbie so any advice is appreciated.

Thanks,
    Dave.

2. nigel_williams

nigel_williams

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +3
    The VW11 will accept component and S-Video conections. I'd suggest contacting Joe Fernand for VanDamme component cables - I paid £42 for 10m run (3 cables). This will give you the best picture from your DVD (assuming it has component out of course!).

The NTL box and PS2 will probably use S-Video - I have neither of these so I can't really be sure. The projector itself can switch between Component and S-Video via the remote control.

It might be possible to use a switching box and use a single cable but that will probably be expensive assuming one exists.

3. LV426

LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +6,000
    I have:

A Pioneer LD player
    2 x JVC SVHS VCRs
    A Pioneer DVD player