1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Connections advice please

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by staxdoobie, May 7, 2003.

1. staxdoobie

staxdoobie

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +35
    This is my first time posting to the forums, but hopefully you won't need to speak too slowly for me to understand.

My question is simply this:

MY new Toshiba RPTV (which I have configured so dark I can barely see it, for fear of screen burn) has just one RGB scart input, which is currently occupied by the Sky Digibox. My Tosh DVD was connected, via Scart, to AV3 until about ten minutes ago, when I discovered that setting the DVD player to output S-Video and changing AV3 on the TV to accept S-Video provided a noticably better picture.

My question is this: would I be able to connect the DVD to the VCR Scart on the Digibox, which would then be connected to the RGB-capable scart on the TV, to get proper RGB from both sources and obtain a better quality DVD picture? Would this method degrade the quality of the Sky picture I currently have? Or am I just better sticking with a direct S-Video connection from DVD to TV?

Hope this makes sense.
    Many thanks in advance for your help.

2. nathan_silly

nathan_silly

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    What model DVD player have you got? (if it has Component instead use this as it will free up SCART AV1)- which then can be used for RGB on the DTT box, and VCR into AV2 or AV3.

What are your settings on the TV?- my Tosh 42" RP is set....

40 contrast
    50 brightness
    -35 colour
    0 tint

contrast is the CRT killer, ~40 is safe.

3. staxdoobie

staxdoobie

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +35
    Hi Nathan, thanks for the swift reply.

My Tosh DVD is the SD3109, so no component out unfortunately.