1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Connection Help for LG RZ42PX11

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by Daipac, Apr 25, 2005.

  1. Daipac

    Daipac
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    658
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +12
    After reading DOCTOR_d's excellent write-up on connections for this plasma as I was hoping to get some opinions on what leads I should buy to get the best out of the LG.

    I have both a PS2 and Xbox and I will also be connecting NTL.

    I am assuming that the best lead for both Xbox and PS2 will be component and have seen this option :

    http://www.whitedog.co.uk/catalog/product_info.php?cPath=3_59&products_id=397&osC

    Is this going to be worse than buying 2 seperate leads from lik-sang.com :

    http://www.lik-sang.com/info.php?category=83&products_id=1905&
    http://www.lik-sang.com/info.php?category=23&products_id=1696&

    Or, is it worth going all the way and getting these :

    http://www.tvcables.co.uk/cgi-bin/tvcables/XPP04.html
    http://www.tvcables.co.uk/cgi-bin/tvcables/XPX04.html

    Do the component cables carry sound ?

    I also want to get a decent cable to connect NTL to the LG, any suggestions ? I have seen this one which DOCTOR_d like in his write-up :

    http://www.tvcables.co.uk/cgi-bin/tvcables/PGV7393.html?id=AUko35mb

    If anybody has any advice for me as to which leads I should get then I would greatly appreciate it if you could post the links for me.

    Cheers,

    Dai
     
  2. tabs

    tabs
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,918
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    warks
    Ratings:
    +130
    dai mate, after a fair bit of advice, i keep hearing that if your going down the scart route for tv ect, then get "scart RGB"
     
  3. Daipac

    Daipac
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    658
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +12
    tabs, do you have any links to examples of these ?

    All of the cables I use to connect devices to the plasma must carry sound.
     
  4. tabs

    tabs
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,918
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    warks
    Ratings:
    +130
  5. Daipac

    Daipac
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    658
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +12
    Cheers mate ! The longest one they have is only 1.5m unfortunately, I need at least a 3m cable I think.
     
  6. DOCTOR_d

    DOCTOR_d
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Messages:
    194
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Cheers for the feedback on the write-up.. :thumbsup:

    To be honest, the expensive cables for the Ps2 are only slightly better...

    But if your using an xbox change the setting so it outputs 720, the difference is the dogs. see here - http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=197255&highlight=console

    The component cables for consoles do usualy have sound...check the pictures for an extra red and white... :smashin:

    I spoke to the TVCables man and he highly recommends the scart cable I used for SKY+, but I'm not sure on NTL. UPDATE - Yes it does -> http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=206772&highlight=box
     
  7. tabs

    tabs
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,918
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    warks
    Ratings:
    +130
    to be honest dai, i didnt realise SCART RGB did not carry audio ... :confused:

    so its back to the drawing board for me...

    i was gonna go....

    x-box = component
    DVD = scart RGB
    sky = scart RGB

    but now i know they dont carry sound, i gotta look at this all over again,

    "when will this pleasure never end" :(
     
  8. Daipac

    Daipac
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    658
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +12
    Thanks Doc.

    I have to stick with NTL as we get it cheap as the girlfriend works there.

    Do you have links to the cables that I should go for ?
     
  9. DOCTOR_d

    DOCTOR_d
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Messages:
    194
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Just get a good scart cable with OFC conductors, the RGB Only ones are not a great improvement on the LG.

    Here - http://www.tvcables.co.uk/cgi-bin/t...tml?id=AUko35mb

    Have you thought about a switchable YUV cable box from Lik-Sang ?


    Tabs, have you thought about :-

    x-box = component
    DVD = scart RGB (fully wired)
    sky = S-video (and audio cables)

    Is your DVD a DVD recorder ?
     
  10. tabs

    tabs
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,918
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    warks
    Ratings:
    +130
    no mate, its not a recorder,
     
  11. tabs

    tabs
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,918
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    warks
    Ratings:
    +130
    doc, do you know of anywhere..ie links ect, that do the scart RGB (fully wired) over 2 metre please
     
  12. tabs

    tabs
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,918
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    warks
    Ratings:
    +130
    sorry to hijack your thread dai mate, i is desperate, ;)
     
  13. DOCTOR_d

    DOCTOR_d
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Messages:
    194
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    I'm sure he won't mind on the H-jack mate :cool:

    Sent a reply to your PM.....
     
  14. Daddy k

    Daddy k
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    9,044
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    coventry
    Ratings:
    +1,345
    maplins mate, its about £30 i got fully wired rgb scart 3 metres from there for my sky+ to lg
     
  15. DOCTOR_d

    DOCTOR_d
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Messages:
    194
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
  16. tabs

    tabs
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,918
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    warks
    Ratings:
    +130
    dont suppose youve got a link or a code have you krismc, im looking on maplins but cant find em...thanks
     
  17. Daipac

    Daipac
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    658
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +12
  18. Daipac

    Daipac
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    658
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +12
    I am now having second thoughts about the other cable because I am not sure how good the cables are going to be.

    I need a component cable for the PS2 and possibly Xbox that is at least 2.5m long and I cannot seem to find any in the UK. The IXOS cables on TVCables are only 2m long and so they are not going to work for me.

    I have seen monster cables which are 10ft long which would be perfect but cannot seem to find anywhere that sell them to the UK. What are these cables like ?

    http://www.computercablestore.com/detail.aspx?ID=3145

    I never thought buying cables could be so hard !

    Cheers,

    Dai
     
  19. Daipac

    Daipac
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    658
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +12
    :lease:

    I have been scouring the Internet for the last few days trying to find cables for my PS2 and Xbox. It has to be at least 2.5m long and I just cannot find anything.

    I have found this cable :

    http://www.darkplanets.com/product_info.asp?cat=1&type=7&prod=329

    But I am not sure on the quality of it. Also, it may be a little short. Do you know if you can get a component cable extension ? Will this ruin the quality ?

    I don't want to spend a lot on cables, a compromise will be needed of course, but I do want a good PQ from the cables I buy otherwise there is no point. Around £20 is what I would like to spend if possible.

    I have seen that the official MS high def cable has been recommended but I have an unmodded Xbox. Will this cable still work with my Xbox and improve the PQ ? I can hopefully do the Splinter Cell soft mod which will allow the Xbox to output HD but if this is not possible, is this cable worth getting ?

    If anybody can offer advice and links to cables that would be suitable I would very much appreciate it.

    :lease:

    Thanks in advance............

    Dai
     
  20. Mike Beds

    Mike Beds
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    32
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Are you sure?!

    Component Video don'tcarry sound, just the 3 video signals.
    RGB-Scart do have pins for sound, so I thought, unless they say RGB only ie only the video.
     
  21. Mike Beds

    Mike Beds
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    32
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Just rewiring my equipment after decorating & noticed my NTL box has another output socket (knew it didn't have Component out & am connecting with RGB Scart).

    It is marked "RSC232C DVE", I think.

    On the back of the TV (I think, forgot to check :blush: , looking at downloaded manual!) there is a similar socket and a DVE socket.

    Have not used either of these before (but having read the forum a bit, is the DVE also known as RGB?) nor seen any connectors in shops.

    Will I get better connection with DVE than RGB scart? (sound can be connected separately). How much can I expect to pay for this & where can I get one?

    Cheers,

    Mike.
     
  22. DOCTOR_d

    DOCTOR_d
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Messages:
    194
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Sorry but the RSC232 connection is for connecting your unit to PC's for diagnostics etc, they do not carry any pictures etc.
     
  23. DOCTOR_d

    DOCTOR_d
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Messages:
    194
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1

    A couple of people are recommending these - http://www.whitedog.co.uk/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=421

    You could then try extending the main cable using something like these for YUV http://www.tvcables.co.uk/cgi-bin/tvcables/AD013.html and this for the audio http://www.tvcables.co.uk/cgi-bin/tvcables/AD003.html

    I'm not sure how much quality you will lose though, extending cables can be disappointing.

    If your around tomorrow afternoon give me a PM and I'll try extending mine to see what happens....
     
  24. Mike Beds

    Mike Beds
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    32
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks for your reply, Dr d.

    Ah yes; I now seem to recall RSC232C is a serial connector?

    Have been looking at Profigold PGV372 1.5m Component Video to Scart Cable

    http://www.tvcables.co.uk/cgi-bin/tvcables/PGV372.html

    to connect my NTL box to TV (prob via amp).

    Apart from the convenience of being able to put this through my AV amp & be able to switch sources more easily, will it give me a better picture than an RGB scart-scart? Or will the switching in the cable/amp cause any picture degredation?

    PS sorry Daipac for slightly hijacking your thread, but am interested in the same questions really :)
     
  25. Daipac

    Daipac
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    658
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +12
    Cheers Doc, you got a PM mate.

    Mike, not a problem, as long as we can all get answers for our questions then we will all be happy.
     
  26. DOCTOR_d

    DOCTOR_d
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Messages:
    194
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1

    I'm not sure that your NTL box will output YUV? I would recommend ringing TVCABLES to see what they think...... but don't forget you will also need a separate audio cable.

    A lot of people on here use AMP's for switching, because they are designed for that purpose you usually don't get any picture degradation..

    What AMP are you using?
     
  27. Mike Beds

    Mike Beds
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    32
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1

    Good point. Was so focussed on connections, not thinking of signal! The scart output has RGB option in settings menu, but nothing about component YUV. I guess the cable on its own won't convert. I presume I can get an RGB/YUV convertor? How much? But again, will this reduce signal quality?

    The AMP is a Yamaha AV amp, can't remember what model (am at work) but it had loads of component inputs with matching stereo audio signals. Video signals can also be soft-mapped to coaxial or optical audio input.

    Is it possible to get a cable box that has component out sockets?

    Thanks,

    Mike
     

Share This Page

Loading...