Connecting Xbox 360 to AVR280

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by gnmilne, Feb 6, 2009.

Tags:
  1. gnmilne

    gnmilne
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have just purchased my first Arcam AVR and was wondering if someone could please give me advice on how best to connect my xbox 360 for getting the best picture and surround sound.
    Gary
     
  2. mudstuff

    mudstuff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Messages:
    3,634
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +412
    I would connect it by HDMI really, simplest way and the one cable handles the video and audio. Unlike Sky HD which only supports 2 channel over HDMI, the 360 can output 5.1. Different TVs react differently with component or vga but they all generally manage HDMI well so I'd say that's the best bet.
     
  3. Slackadder

    Slackadder
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Messages:
    845
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +77
    Mike,

    Probably best to connect via optical and HDMI - the AVR280 doesn't handle audio over HDMI (AFAIK). I have an AVR300 and use optical cable for 5.1 output connected to one of the many optical ins on the amp.

    In terms of connecting HDMI to the amp and then video from amp to TV - how many HDMI slots do you have on the telly? I sometimes use my Xbox with speakers on the telly - I am not sure if you use the switching technique (hdmi to to amp) you will get sound without having the amp on.

    Regards,

    Anthony
     
  4. gnmilne

    gnmilne
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, Tv not out of box yet as waiting for extension to be finished but I would guess at least 3 hdmi ports. Bought a HDMI cable and Microsoft optical audio dongle last night so hopefully will get it set up over the next couple of weeks.

    thanks Gary
     
  5. Dankeech

    Dankeech
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Messages:
    3,637
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Stevenage, Herts
    Ratings:
    +299
    Slackadder is correct - The AVR280 doesn't take audio from HDMI. You will need an optical cable for that.

    Please advise what sources you have. Depending on sources, component video may be the best solution to use for you, just let me know all the sources you have.

    Regards,

    Dan.
     
  6. gnmilne

    gnmilne
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,
    If all goes well the sources I’m looking to put through the AVR280 for a start are
    Xbox360
    Wii
    A blu ray player (yet to be bought so any suggestions would be good and with the little money I have left from building the extension it will need to be cheap.)
    CD player
    SKY

    Cheers
    Gary
     
  7. Dankeech

    Dankeech
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Messages:
    3,637
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Stevenage, Herts
    Ratings:
    +299
    Hi Gary, connect:

    Xbox360 via component, probably to 'AV' component input
    Connect optical to 'AV'optical connection

    Wii connected via composite and L+R audio to 'VCR' connection input

    Blu-Ray player via component to 'DVD' and players's analogue-outs into mult-channel input on back of receiver.

    Component video cable from AVR280's output to TV's input. Optional to connect the 'Monitor Out' audio output of AVR280 to TV's audio input that is linked to it's component video connection, allows you to have TV audio if you want to mute main speakers.

    This gives you audio & video switching and should work nicely.

    Hope that helps.
     
  8. gnmilne

    gnmilne
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the advice will have a think about it all, for some reason I thought that the HDMI's would be used for video and opticals for audio.Looks like the HDMI cable I bought might not be required.

    many thanks

    Gary
     

Share This Page

Loading...