Connecting video thru Yamaha RXV2500

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by stevegreen, Nov 7, 2005.

Tags:
  1. stevegreen

    stevegreen
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2001
    Messages:
    8,745
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    in my Hymer
    Ratings:
    +921
    I will be starting the wiring for my HC room soon and could do with peoples experiences on routing video through their AV amp.

    I intend to send just one component cable from the amp to the PJ, routing the DVD picture through the amp and also an Xbox

    Is this method likely to make much difference to the picture quality in comparison to connecting the DVD player directly to the PJ?
     
  2. mista

    mista
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    506
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +17
    Hi There,

    I have one of these and my xbox, DVD and TV is all routed through my 2500 - There is absoultly no difference in quality.

    Mista
     
  3. stevegreen

    stevegreen
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2001
    Messages:
    8,745
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    in my Hymer
    Ratings:
    +921
    Just what I wanted to hear. What are you connecting your 2500 to out of interest, and is it through component?
     
  4. skinnyfat

    skinnyfat
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can second that :thumbsup:
     
  5. Drew2

    Drew2
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    699
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Tsukuba, Japan
    Ratings:
    +32
    Just bought one yesterday for an absolute bargain price of 325 quid.

    Glad to hear that you notice no difference when connecting your units through it. Was considering plugging my PS2 and Momitsu in - will now try it out!
     
  6. karlak

    karlak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,944
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,573
    2nd hand I guess ?
     
  7. Drew2

    Drew2
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    699
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Tsukuba, Japan
    Ratings:
    +32
    Ex-display, actually it was still on display! Happy chappy :thumbsup:
     
  8. John

    John
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Messages:
    11,724
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,426
    I have my set up wired similarly , all through my 757 .
    The only drawback I find , is that the picture settings are a compromise between all the sources . Admitedly , I have Sky, DVD and Xbox .
    Depending on your DVD player , it may have its own onboard picture adjustments .
    Of course , if your display does not allow separate settings for separate inputs , it irrelevant .

    I've wondered how Gordon and Piers have gone on with such a set up , they must have done one . Which method they get the best results from , and how they compare.

    John
     
  9. Drew2

    Drew2
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    699
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Tsukuba, Japan
    Ratings:
    +32
    I have just hooked up my Momitsu by component running 1080i.
    The picture quality certainly looks as good as ever, however I have noticed that the motion is "staggered". This might be down to the fact that it was a PAL disc I was watching and the amp is only set up for NTSC signals and that the Momitsu is sending out a PAL - NTSC signal even though I set it to 50Hz. Will spend time tomorrow with different discs and also hook up the PS2 and see how it looks - can't wait to hear the ProLogic II soundtracks..... :smashin:
     
  10. mista

    mista
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    506
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +17
    viewing my picture with a 42 PW7 - TV is going through a js RGB to component convertor - Denon 2910 through componet - and xbox all through component (hidef kit) - I did some testing with the dvd player playing directly through the TV to see if I could see a difference but did not spot any change
    - I can concur that my tv is calibrated to the DVD using the video essentials DVD and your TV is dumb to the fact that you are changing inputs. I personally do not mess with the colour at all on the TV - Change the setting on the xbox is all I find I have to do

    Mista
     

Share This Page

Loading...