Connecting up my equipment

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by copster, May 1, 2007.

  1. copster

    copster
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2003
    Messages:
    16
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have just purchased a Panasonic PX70 and now need to sort out my cabling and connections prior to chasing it all into the wall.

    I am going to buy an AV amp which will probably be one of the following(unless there is anything else for circa £400): Onkyo 674/Pioneer VSX1016/Sony 1200ES

    I then need to connect:

    Sky HD - HDMI to Receiver
    Vaio Media Centre - HDMI to Receiver
    Xbox 360 - Component to Receiver
    Receiver - HDMI to TV

    Is this the best way to do it? Any suggestions welcome
     
  2. fizl

    fizl
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Messages:
    2,164
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Not in London
    Ratings:
    +460
    I think you will also need component to TV if you buy the pioneer. Isn't it only the 2016 that upconverts to HDMI?

    For SKY at least you will also need some audio cables (not sure for the others to be honest)

    Shaz
     
  3. rEVILospud

    rEVILospud
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Messages:
    2,295
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Shoreham-by-Sea
    Ratings:
    +235
    The Sony 1200ES definitely won't upconvert analogue sources to HDMI and I think fizl may well be correct about the Pioneer 1016 too.
    The Sony 3200ES does have this function and if fixl is correct then so does the Pioneer 2016, but that does up the cost a bit. Obviously there are others also e.g. Denon 2307 etc.
    You would need optical cables for SkyHD and Xbox 360 into the Receiver also, but these won't need to be chased in anywhere, I presume.

    Other than that, it seems fine as long as you're confident that you won't be needing any Scart, VGA or even Component cables (as a backup) in the future.
     
  4. copster

    copster
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2003
    Messages:
    16
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the replies chaps. Think I may stick in a component, a VGA & a scart lead to be on the safe side as well.

    Cheers
     

Share This Page

Loading...