1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Connecting two DVI devices to one DVI display

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by HitmanIP7, Jan 13, 2005.

  1. HitmanIP7

    HitmanIP7
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    689
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +20
    Ive just got a 20.1" widescreen TFT for my PC, which Im going to use for watching DVD's on. At the moment its connected via DVI to my PC. But I cant really make my current PC silent, so I plan to make a silent HTPC for DVD and video playback.

    So what Im trying to find is a switcher which I can connect both PC's to, and output them to the TFT.

    I did a search on the forums, and found the threads about this. But nearly all of them suggested products in the US. I did find one from tmfsolutions.co.uk, but its like £199 :eek:

    Isn't there anything simple and cheap which would do this?

    But obviously not degrading visual quality when Im using either PC.
     
  2. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    for those too lazy to swap the cables round £199 is a worthy investment...............
     
  3. HitmanIP7

    HitmanIP7
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    689
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +20
    lol, I am too lazy :D
     
  4. cwick

    cwick
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2,207
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +95
  5. pragmatic

    pragmatic
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Messages:
    12,120
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,678
    Does the Monitor have a DVI and VGA because if it does then use a converter to connect it DVI-VGA, or from one PC just get a VGA lead. I'm not sure if there is much difference between the two to be honest, espectialy over short runs.

    Also not sure if yours does but some TFT's have a PIP function.
     
  6. HitmanIP7

    HitmanIP7
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    689
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +20
    It does have both VGA and DVI, but my personal oppinion is that you can tell the difference between them. DVI is so much clearer and crisper.

    I saw that Blenkin one, but on another site it said it had been discontinued due to a problem with them.

    I found a few on eBay. They are all from sellers based in the US, and they all look good quality. SO I may possibly go for one of those.
     

Share This Page

Loading...