1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Connecting TV-XBOX-DVD-VIDEO-CABLE

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by Bigpants2k, Jan 8, 2003.

1. Bigpants2k

Bigpants2k
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2
    Ok I need some advice as I am very new to all this AV stuff and you have probably heard this all before, but here goes.

I have Sanyo 32" widescreen on the back it has 2 scart connections and on the front it has a little flip down lid with a yellow red and white connections.
    I also have a Sony DAV-S880 system, a X Box, a NTL cable box and a VHS Video player.
    At the moment I have a yellow ended cable going from the Sony to a scart converter into one of the scart connections on the back of my TV.

I have a scart cable going from my X Box to the other connection on the back of the TV with a red and white cable going from a little box half way down the X Box scart lead to the back of the Sony, this gives me sound from the Sony when I play X Box games.

The DVD has a optical audio digital out connection so can I use a optical cable from the X Box to go into this???

At the moment I don't have my video plugged into anything.

I can get sound and vision when I play DVD's but cant get sound through the Sony when I watch TV.

Is this the best way of cabling my systems up? do I need to buy anymore cables and if so which cables should I buy?.

Thanks for any help you can offer me.
    :D

2. Kevo

Kevo

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +146
    I assume that the Sony has S-video Din out and no SCART?
    The TV has RGB SCART on AV1 and S-video on AV2.

Ideally you want the optimum....

NTL via RGB, XB via RGB, DVD via S-Video. VCR simply plugs into the aux SCART on NTL STB so is not a problem.

Does your TV have a S-vdeo mini din socket on the rear?