1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Connecting TV to receiver....

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by scottymac, Feb 19, 2005.

  1. scottymac

    scottymac
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    It sounds simple (and I'm sure it is to you guys) but I just can't get any sound from my speakers when I hook them up. I am connecting them as explained in the manual. It's just the plain old analog audio cables (or whatever you call those yellow, red and white cables). Am I missing something? The menu on the TV doesn't seem to give me any options as regards the sound.

    I have a Sharp 28" widescreen and a Marantz SR4400 receiver. I would really appreciate your help on this.
     
  2. Mango Bob

    Mango Bob
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    513
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi scotty, what's your source device (sky box, telewest cable box, dvd player etc?) and how have you plugged it into your TV and amp?
     
  3. scottymac

    scottymac
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for your reply Bob. I have a DVD player connected to my TV via the scart - Do I need a connection from the DVD to amp then? :oops:
     
  4. Mango Bob

    Mango Bob
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    513
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi scotty, yes - you need a digital connection between the DVD and amp to get sound into it. You have a choice of buying a digital optical or digital coaxial cable - there's very little difference between the two.

    You should be able to pick up a digital coax cable (the type I've got) from Dixons or any electrical shop - it looks like a single phono cable (like the pairs you use for analogue stero) but you have to buy a digital specific cable.

    Once you've got this connect it from the coax out on the back of the DVD player to the DVD coax in on the amp. Also make sure the DVD player is set to output "Bitstream" sound rather than "PCM" which it probably is now - this will ensure your amp receives all 5.1 channels in the digital stream.

    HTH, happy playing!
     
  5. lynx

    lynx
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,633
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    It always rains.
    Ratings:
    +301
    A standard phono cable will carry a bitstream signal between the dvd output socket and the amp.

    Scotty- try the standard audio cable to get you operational. In the dvd player audio setup menu, select bitstream and your amp should detect the appropriate signal when you choose that input.
     
  6. Mango Bob

    Mango Bob
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    513
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    I thought audio cables weren't designed to carry the right frequencies - isn't a digital connection going to be up in the MHz range rather than kHz like audio cable?
     
  7. lynx

    lynx
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,633
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    It always rains.
    Ratings:
    +301
    The suggestion was to let the chap get operational, i did state that in my post :)
     
  8. Mango Bob

    Mango Bob
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    513
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    True, even shorter-term than my idea with suggesting Dixons as a quality purveyor of electrical wares!

    Did a bit more digging and it sounds like it'll work fine with an analogue audio cable but some sound formats may be affected:
    http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=14368&highlight=digital+phono+analogue+cable

    Use the analogue cable to test your system and then buy a 'proper' cable...you don't have to go overboard on cost here - just get one fit for the job!
     
  9. lynx

    lynx
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,633
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    It always rains.
    Ratings:
    +301
    You may even find that the Yellow plug is connected to 75Ω cable (if it's a genuine video connector).
     
  10. scottymac

    scottymac
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well it's all working fine now, I already had the revelant cables.

    Sound is remarkable, thank you both for your help.

    (I have a LOT to learn.)
     
  11. Mango Bob

    Mango Bob
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    513
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    Glad we helped, enjoy the system!

    Just wait for the upgraditis to start, I suggest carefully avoiding reading about potential shiny new purchases!
     

Share This Page

Loading...