1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Connecting to XBox Live

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by Complete Novice, Apr 19, 2005.

  1. Complete Novice

    Complete Novice
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    Messages:
    119
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Ratings:
    +0
    We are currently on AOL dial up. My son is desperate to have a go at XBox Live. Will he be able to play it if we get AOL Silver Broadband? Price is a big issue with the broadband so we want the cheapest possible but so that he is not disappointed. Any advice welcome. :hiya:
     
  2. Pooon

    Pooon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    7,118
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Canterbury, Kent
    Ratings:
    +722
    AOL silver will do it, as will any Broadband supplier that provides you with a 512k connection(it is poosible with slower speeds but is not recommended). Personally i'm not a fan of AOL, but thats another matter, but there are cheaper BB suppliers out there, people like Tiscali for example.
     
  3. Complete Novice

    Complete Novice
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    Messages:
    119
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Ratings:
    +0
    How much broadband usage does XBox Live take up - example, if it were used for a couple of hours every night and say all weekend? :lease:
     
  4. Pooon

    Pooon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    7,118
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Canterbury, Kent
    Ratings:
    +722
    'Live' doesn't take up alot of broadband useage as your not downloadng anything, so you can comfortably use it all weekend etc with no problems.

    As for broadband suppliers i'd recommend sticking with one of the major players such as BT, Wanadoo etc. afaik both these companies have a 1mb service available for £17.99. You might also want to check out Broadband Buyer for some info.
     
  5. UncagedTyphoon

    UncagedTyphoon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Messages:
    653
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    City Street having it Large Essex
    Ratings:
    +3
    Oh my god Tiscali worst ISP i have come accross cheap yes customer service is a cheap as the service, it is ok if you can speak in some dilect of Indian as that is where there custome (no) service centre is. Stay well clear of these a friend asked me to help with his connection after 10 mins of being on hold then i get someone i cant understand the the phone gets put down on me

    Then again you get what you pay for I would rate AOL above tiscali any day

    And no im not a AOL user
     
  6. Big_Si

    Big_Si
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Messages:
    45
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Bolton
    Ratings:
    +0
    According to AOL's useless helpsites the Silver package will support connection to Xbox Live but from what i understand it has to be achieved through ICS as the Silver Package doesn't support home networking. I may be misinterpretting this as it isn't very clear and they would obviously prefer there customers to upgrade to the Gold Package. If you are an existing AOL customer then the link below will take you to the correct site within the AOL software.

    http://channels.aolsvc.co.uk/games/xboxgames/?n=navbar&p=playgames&c=games
     
  7. xvanityx

    xvanityx
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    it says on the aol site that online gaming with ps2 or xbox is only possible through gold on platinum NOT silver. are AOL just trying to rip us off and would it still work?
     
  8. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,482
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +990
  9. Shin Akuma

    Shin Akuma
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,659
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +76
    I just checked F2S has upload speed up to 750mbps. Nice, should help killing those americans. :D
     
  10. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,482
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +990
    I think that’s only for 8mb lines though, I’m on 2mb and get around 230k on average.
     

Share This Page

Loading...